Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

Windows Activation Issue

This is a discussion on Windows Activation Issue within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. OK, so I've got myself into a bit of bother and need some help. I have 2 old laptops The


Like Tree11Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2019, 09:11 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,275
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



OK, so I've got myself into a bit of bother and need some help. I have 2 old laptops

The old configuration was as follows:-
Laptop A (Dell) was running Windows 10 Home 32-bit
Laptop B (Asus) was running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

The hard drive in Laptop A was failing, and I wanted to upgrade to SSD drive on Laptop B (which I did, using recommendation from crucial.com and cloned the old drive using Acronis)

I replaced the failing hard drive from Laptop A with the old hard drive from Laptop B .

Everything is working fine, but I had not considered the fact that both are now running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (even though I only have one licence) and I'm getting a Windows Activation message.

How do I get Laptop A back to Windows 10 Home 32-bit? I do not know the product key.


Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2019, 09:31 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Someone might have a better idea, but I'd save all personal data on the drive, then reformat it and download the Windows 10 32 bit Home ISO and install it. The proof of your Windows ownership is on the original MOBO so it should be totally legal.
tomohawk and vanukuru.vinod like this.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 06-06-2019, 09:32 AM   #3
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Was the HDD B replaced onto A with or without a reinstall ?

Look at the COA label on the laptop and check the version of Windows for which it was licensed, install that version and then use the COA Label key to activate.
tomohawk and vanukuru.vinod like this.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2019, 09:50 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,275
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks guys.

It was replaced without a reinstall

The label is so old that I cannot read it.

It would have originally had Windows 95

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 06-06-2019, 10:02 AM   #5
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Was it upgraded to Windows 10 Home as part of the free upgrade ? If so, you can reinstall Home and then use the Live ID used to sign in to see if the Activation gets validated.
tomohawk likes this.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 06-06-2019, 10:18 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,275
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
Someone might have a better idea, but I'd save all personal data on the drive, then reformat it and download the Windows 10 32 bit Home ISO and install it. The proof of your Windows ownership is on the original MOBO so it should be totally legal.
This might sound like a stupid question, but what is the best way to reformat it? From command prompt, or just quick format from File Explorer

Thanks,
Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 06-06-2019, 10:23 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,275
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Quote:
Originally Posted by tristar View Post
Was it upgraded to Windows 10 Home as part of the free upgrade ? If so, you can reinstall Home and then use the Live ID used to sign in to see if the Activation gets validated.
I'm afraid I don't know the answer to this.

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 06-06-2019, 10:47 AM   #8
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by tomohawk View Post
This might sound like a stupid question, but what is the best way to reformat it? From command prompt, or just quick format from File Explorer

Thanks,
Tommy
Doesn't matter.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 06-06-2019, 11:14 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,275
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Corday.

For my own edification, if I format the drive, then there will be no windows system on it. What medium do I then use to e.g. restart to a usb?

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 06-06-2019, 12:10 PM   #10
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,013
OS: Win7



How old is the laptop?
If it truly did have Win 95 it probably will not boot from a USB stick.
tomohawk likes this.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-06-2019, 12:12 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,275
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



I'm really not sure Wrench97.

I'll give it a try anyway and report back.

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 06-06-2019, 01:16 PM   #12
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by tomohawk View Post
Thanks Corday.

For my own edification, if I format the drive, then there will be no windows system on it. What medium do I then use to e.g. restart to a usb?

Tommy
If the computer can accommodate USB, then the Media Creation tool created Windows should boot it.

EDIT: Of course if your computer came with Windows 7 or above, then you could just install from a disc you might have, then upgrade to 10 Home.
tomohawk likes this.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 06-07-2019, 12:59 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,275
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



I'm up and running guys.

Thanks as always for your continued support.

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 06-07-2019, 01:28 AM   #14
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Thanks for letting us know Tommy !
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 06-11-2019, 06:15 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 11
OS: WIN 7 Pro



How did you fix the installation issue ? I'm having the same problem but its with WIN Pro 7 and I swapped the hard drive from a failed PC to another. Funny thing is I still get updates from Microsoft even though I get an hourly pop up telling me I may have a copy of windows that may not be genuine.

I tried entering the Validation code on the sticker on the dell computer case itself. But I can't find my installation disk. Long as the updates come I'm hoping it will fix itself but any help will be appreciated. Thanks
Juggernautz is offline  
Old 06-12-2019, 12:31 AM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,275
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Jazzwineman.

Juggernautz, see post #2 from Corday
tomohawk is offline  
Old 06-12-2019, 01:14 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 11
OS: WIN 7 Pro



I remember that post, so I clicked on the link in the post and it goes to eBay ads to buy WIN 10. That's my last resort but for now its not the one I want to go with. If I go that route I want a disk too since a genuine disk saves the day.

I think microsoft has some issues with their operating systems since 2 versions get fouled up and the software is no longer recognized as legit. Otherwise MS is scamming customers to upgrade. I had no crashes nor bad downloads so its a bad copy.
Juggernautz is offline  
Old 06-12-2019, 05:02 AM   #18
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,471
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Genuine disk for Windows 10 is not necessary only the COA as every 6 months you download a new media creator disk or update through Windows Update anyway and you clean install the same way now.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 06-12-2019, 07:00 AM   #19
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



@Juggernautz please create a new thread for the issue, we can address it there..
tomohawk likes this.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 06-13-2019, 12:06 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 11
OS: WIN 7 Pro



Ok, I'll create a new thread.

Rich-M, good to know about COA since some sellers claim no free updates but I know 2 peeps who have coa versions with no problems.
Juggernautz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts