Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

will media creation tool repair win 10

This is a discussion on will media creation tool repair win 10 within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have just upgraded to a free win 10 system from win 7. When I try to back up win


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2015, 01:13 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


I have just upgraded to a free win 10 system from win 7. When I try to back up win 10 it says "not enough space on the drive". I have a separate 500gb drive installed for backup, and it has the last backup of win 7. I am afraid to delete it in case I need to go back. If win 10 crashes can I use the downloaded windows media creation tool to repair win 10?
deweylovem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2015, 01:24 PM   #2
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 38,274
OS: Windows 10 Professional, Windows 10 build 14361, Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System


Can't you backup Win 10 to the other drive where you have plenty of space?
__________________




Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Old 08-14-2015, 02:17 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


The other drive has win 10 on it. If it goes bad, won't I lose my backup?
deweylovem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2015, 02:31 PM   #4
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 38,274
OS: Windows 10 Professional, Windows 10 build 14361, Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System


Just so I get this right, you have Windows 10 on one drive, and Windows 10 and Windows 7 on another. Is that correct? If not, would you please say how the disks are partitioned?
__________________




Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Old 08-14-2015, 03:06 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


I have 2 500gb hard drives. One had win 7 which just upgraded to the free win 10. The other was just used to back up win 7. This drive does not have enough room to back up win 10 without removing the win 7 backup. Not having a disk for win 10, How do I repair it if it crashes?
deweylovem is offline  
Old 08-14-2015, 03:14 PM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,650
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Keep your Windows7 Pristine as is. Wait a little while for MS to announce how they are planning to provide the pristine download when needed for 10 faults. AS of now, probably not an ISO. You shouldn't need it in the foreseeable future, so give MS a chance to shake things out.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 08-23-2015, 03:35 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


I downloaded "EasyRE Professional for Windows 10.ISO" and created a recovery disk. I hope this will be what I need if My pc crashes
deweylovem is offline  
Old 08-23-2015, 06:18 AM   #8
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,650
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


No guarantees.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 08-25-2015, 03:08 AM   #9
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 38,274
OS: Windows 10 Professional, Windows 10 build 14361, Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by deweylovem View Post
I have 2 500gb hard drives. One had win 7 which just upgraded to the free win 10. The other was just used to back up win 7. This drive does not have enough room to back up win 10 without removing the win 7 backup. Not having a disk for win 10, How do I repair it if it crashes?
If the disk with the Win 7 backup is 500GB, how come there isn't room for Win 10?
__________________




Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Old 08-25-2015, 05:38 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


There are lots of photos, videos and system image that takes up more than half the drive. I removed the drive with win 7 and inserted a new 500 gb drive and backed up win 10. Now I have win 7 saved if I ever need it.
deweylovem is offline  
Old 08-25-2015, 02:50 PM   #11
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 38,274
OS: Windows 10 Professional, Windows 10 build 14361, Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System


That's good to hear. Can we mark this thread 'Closed' now?
__________________




Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sfc/scannow failure. Need help
Hi there Sfc code experts, - I ran sfc /scannow and it failed at the 99% mark. (unable to fix corrupt file as well) Not sure if this helps, previously i was able to run Windows experience index (WEI) but not anymore since the sfc /scannow fails. The WEI gives an error and stops at...
Leftie Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 9 08-11-2014 01:41 AM
Windows Update error
I've gotten different errors before (over a month ago), and tried to follow Microsoft's labyrinth to the solution, but I'm flummoxed. Again, it's been a while, but I believe I tried to download a stand-alone patch and was unsuccessful with that as well. I'm willing to go through all of this over...
davealapoo Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 20 09-14-2013 11:00 PM
Windows Update Error Code 80072efe2
Thanks to this I'm not able to do any Windows Updates. I'm running a Dell Inspiron with Windows 7 Home Premium (64 bit). I've looked online for several fixes, including the Kapersky TDSSKiller program and I still get the error. Is there anyone out there who could help me?
EncoreBlade Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 36 01-26-2013 12:01 PM
[SOLVED] Connected to router but no Internet
Hey this is my first time here so hopefully we can figure this out! We recently moved out router from inside a cabinet to on top of it for better wireless reception but once we plugged everything back in, none of our computers were able to connect to the wireless signal. It picks up the signal...
ajever01 Networking Support 20 07-17-2012 03:01 PM
Computer randomly hangs
Vista Home Premium Service Pack 2 Memory 1,024+1,024MB DDR2 RAM 667 MHz Hard disk 200+200GB Toshiba P200-144 Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T7200 2GHz 32 bit bought 5 years ago
Rolo127 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 12 06-25-2012 12:24 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts