Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

Strange internet problem with Win 10

This is a discussion on Strange internet problem with Win 10 within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Sometimes (but not always) I get the attached error message. It happens when the computer is awaiting a response, such


Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Corday
  • 1 Post By spunk.funk
  • 1 Post By tristar
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2019, 04:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 10



Sometimes (but not always) I get the attached error message. It happens when the computer is awaiting a response, such as a reply after attempting to upload a small file to my health care provider, or when viewing embedded links such as the weekly quiz at BBC website. I get the same message (or very similar) with Firefox, Chrome and Edge. I also get the message when I pause my anti-malware (Emsisoft). The most interesting thing is that I do not get this problem on another computer located in my bedroom, which is running the same OS and AV software. The only difference between the two computers is that the bedroom one is on WiFi. My daughters laptop also does not have this problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	internet problem.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	324778  
FreddieClark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2019, 04:54 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,246
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


https://superuser.com/questions/1492...ean-in-firefox
FreddieClark likes this.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-02-2019, 06:10 PM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,707
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, you only need windows defender , you do not need any other, continuing to do so will only increase your problems.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2019, 06:02 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 10



Jenae: As I already mentioned, my anti-malware is also on all my other computers and none are showing this problem. By the way in most tests, Windows defender is good but most experts recommend it is also coupled with a good anti-malware program. So your reply does not really help.
FreddieClark is offline  
Old 12-03-2019, 06:06 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 10



I am not using a proxy or VPN. the errors occur in Chrome, Edge and Firefox. They are also there when I disable my Anti-Malware.
FreddieClark is offline  
Old 12-03-2019, 09:46 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,644
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


We all agree that Windows Defender also needs an anti-malware program that you would manually start, and is not automatically started with Windows. We prefer Malwarebytes.
When going to these web sites, make sure your are using the secure setting in the address bar (ie) https:\\ rather then just http:
FreddieClark likes this.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 12-04-2019, 06:00 PM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,707
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, malwarebytes is not needed, it has been well and truly surpassed by superior algorithms used by defender, actually malwarebytes is some two years behind and uses older algorithms. I have no idea who these so called experts are, since we are considered the go to team for the five eyes, security arrangement. It was our work on our super computer that alerted the world to Kaspersky's exploits. For the past twenty five years all AV programs have been sent to us for evaluation we do this for 23 of the worlds most advanced economies (excluding china and russia). Currently Windows Defender is really all the US, AUS, Canada , NZ and the UK use in terms of security for sensitive govm't systems, Most of the reports you read about third party AV's on the web are "BS" paid for by the developers or through advertisements in magazines, it is time for people to wake up, stop being duped by the greedy and ignorant self prompting AV industry.

I should add that by far the best developed cleaner is System Ninja, and SuperAntiSpyware is great for removing adware, highly recommended.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 12-22-2019, 09:23 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 10



So it seems that the problem in Firefox goes away when i set the security.tls.version from 4 back to 3.
FreddieClark is offline  
Old 12-22-2019, 11:00 PM   #9
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,979
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



So the computer on which you're facing this issue is directly wired and the rest of them are all Wireless ? The issue occurs on the wired one, then I'd look at the cable, to see if there is an intermittent connection caused due to a faulty cable.

Use a spare cable and connect it to a different ethernet port on the router/modem to eliminate the cable and port as an issue.
FreddieClark likes this.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 12-23-2019, 08:23 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by FreddieClark View Post
So it seems that the problem in Firefox goes away when i set the security.tls.version from 4 back to 3.
I stand corrected, it seems it appeared to solve the problem but in fact did not.
FreddieClark is offline  
Old 12-24-2019, 12:09 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,644
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Clear your internet Cache and try again. https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-clea...irefox-2624704
spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts