Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

Reserved For Windows 10 And Tried Media Creation Tool

This is a discussion on Reserved For Windows 10 And Tried Media Creation Tool within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I have windows 7. x64. I'd like to upgrade my computer to windows 10, therefore I am reserved. Lets


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-06-2015, 09:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Nitroster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
OS: Windows 10 Home; And Many Other Computers Including Linux Mint



So I have windows 7. x64. I'd like to upgrade my computer to windows 10, therefore I am reserved. Lets just say I would like to upgrade right now, therefore I tried the "Media Creation Tool" and for x64... Turns out, it said "Something Happened" with numbers below the heading, nothing really happened. My uncle also gave me a copy that did the exact same thing except both parts of the window said "Something Happened". Please help, ty
Nitroster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2015, 11:09 PM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



on the media tool you are using the
"upgrade this PC"

you could try the following
MS appears to be recommending the link on twitter

Quote:
1. Go into "C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\Download" and delete everything in that folder.
2. Now, run the command prompt as an administrator. Type in "wuauclt.exe /updatenow".
3. Go to your Control Panel > Windows Update and your Windows 10 should start re-downloading from scratch, hopefully without flaws this time.
https://www.reddit.com/r/windows/com...ng_to_install/
Some sites also recommend emptying the recycle bin as well before running the Command Prompt

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...inkId=15931699

It will download the installation file approx 2,712.6 MB, although on another PC , it was 580Mb
See if you already hav the hidden files
$windows.~BT
$windows.~WS
Under C:/
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 10:57 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Nitroster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
OS: Windows 10 Home; And Many Other Computers Including Linux Mint



Thx for replying. I noticed a difference in error codes, I have this error code:
0x80072EFD - 0x20000
Nitroster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-07-2015, 10:59 AM   #4
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



what method are you updating ?
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 11:05 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Nitroster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
OS: Windows 10 Home; And Many Other Computers Including Linux Mint



Im doing the x64 Mediacreationtool by Microsoft to upgrade to Windows 10. All I am doing is opening the tool and I get that error :(

Windows Update once wasn't working and found the issue but couldn't repair it. Windows Update is working again but I still get that error from opening the tool.

Also... That command in command prompt wont work for me, nothing is happening.
Nitroster is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 01:44 PM   #6
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



nothing happens with the command prompt - but if you have windows update open
it should start the download of windows 10 upgrade

try deleting the download folder again as per the link
open windows update
run the command prompt (as admin) and watch the download
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 09:07 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Nitroster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
OS: Windows 10 Home; And Many Other Computers Including Linux Mint



I noticed I have two software distribute folders. one says ".old" at the end. So, I tried what you did but still nothing happened. I noticed files going into the software distrib folder being from this date but idk if that means anything. My control panel>Windows Update doesn't do anything but say my Windows 10 is reserved.
Nitroster is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 11:03 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


Do not remove the .old folder as that is current files and settings to be used if you want to revert back once Windows 10 is installed.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 02:27 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Nitroster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
OS: Windows 10 Home; And Many Other Computers Including Linux Mint



Ok so, What shall I do now?

And btw I do have the windows- bt folder

LF Help. Really frustrating not being able to do anything.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBcncD1kNuI
Nitroster is offline  
Old 08-09-2015, 05:14 AM   #10
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



i cant find much info / relevant info about that error

IS windows 7 fully updated , with all updates ?
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 08-09-2015, 11:14 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Nitroster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
OS: Windows 10 Home; And Many Other Computers Including Linux Mint



Yeah, I've been trying to be fully updated. I had often errors tho

This should be more on microsofts important list, I'm not the only person with this problem, many others have it as well and cannot fix it! This is serious lol
Nitroster is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 05:05 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 1,025
OS: W10 Home 64Bit



Gotta love the 'something happened' message!! Wonder how much that bloke is being paid lol.

I was having similar experiences, have you tried the registry entry in the attachment?

Rob.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GWX10.JPG
Views:	2156
Size:	98.0 KB
ID:	249321  
Crossy is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 07:57 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Nitroster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
OS: Windows 10 Home; And Many Other Computers Including Linux Mint



Ye lol! "Something Happened" I thought the same exact thing! xD
Im checking that out now...
But how do you find a registry key? :P

nvm :D gotz it

searching for updates right now...

WOW... 23 updates found recommended. Tons of windows 7 security... Guess I gotta do that first. I alrdy did the modifications to my registry.
Nitroster is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 08:26 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 1,025
OS: W10 Home 64Bit


Yep, well they do say to stsrt with a fully updated Windows 7.
Good luck, let us know how you go.
Rob.
Crossy is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 08:33 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Nitroster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
OS: Windows 10 Home; And Many Other Computers Including Linux Mint



Thanks! :D Hope it works. ur awesome
Nitroster is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 08:38 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 1,025
OS: W10 Home 64Bit


:-) cheers
Crossy is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 08:55 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Nitroster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
OS: Windows 10 Home; And Many Other Computers Including Linux Mint



Just a question... so people on this site work for microsoft? They have their own answer program, so is this just a side forum? Like, I wish I could help out people myself too on this site xD

Ok, so I got a few failed updates again. Error: 80070308
Nitroster is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 09:11 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 1,025
OS: W10 Home 64Bit


I'm not associated with Microsoft in any way. I simply post suggestions which have worked for me, & that I have found on line.
Crossy is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 09:12 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Nitroster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 86
OS: Windows 10 Home; And Many Other Computers Including Linux Mint



heres a snapshot

But, im able to go to windows 10! Thx! Any suggestions on fixing those update errors tho?

Im trying the diagnostic tool :P

Diagnostic... :P
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Update Errror.GIF
Views:	619
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	249401   Click image for larger version

Name:	Update Fixish.GIF
Views:	470
Size:	15.2 KB
ID:	249417  
Nitroster is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 09:34 PM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 1,025
OS: W10 Home 64Bit


Have you tried the Microsoft fixit? I spent a lot of time searching the error number.
Also have a look in Event Viewer, there may be clues there as well.
So are you in 10 yet?
Crossy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts