Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

Recording Tab Freezes When Opened on Sound Settings

This is a discussion on Recording Tab Freezes When Opened on Sound Settings within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, could someone help me troubleshoot this problem please. When I go to my Sound Settings and open the Recording


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2020, 07:54 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 8 64-bit



Hi, could someone help me troubleshoot this problem please. When I go to my Sound Settings and open the Recording tab it freezes. I'm ready to provide whatever information is needed. Recently I installed a Behrigner mixer but it's been working fine for at least a day or two (I can't quite remember).

Here is a speccy report of my computer.

I updated to the latest version of Windows 10 since making the speccy report.

Thanks
Astralogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2020, 10:19 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 8 64-bit



Here is an updated speccy report after the Windows update.
Astralogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 02:54 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


What is the model # of the Behrigner mixer?
Speccy lists your C-Media Headphoes but not the Mixer.
What happens if you unplug the mixer?
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2020, 11:17 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 8 64-bit



It's a Behringer XENYX Q802USB PA Mixer.

It works fine but I uninstalled it to see what would happen, it didn't fix the problem, even if unplugged.
Astralogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 04:31 PM   #5
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 214
OS:

My System


I see you're using a Soundblaster Z but you also are using the C-media USB headset, which bypasses your SB-Z for default audio when used but that doesn't mean that the Creative card and or it's drivers aren't causing an issue. Have you tried physically removing the Creative card and it's drivers from your system?
__________________
SpareChange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 08:32 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 8 64-bit



I haven't tried that but I will. However, the Cmedia thing is actually a mic, well it's one of those little things that you plug the mic/headphones into, but it's just used for a mic. All devices are working without issues as well.
Astralogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 11:00 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 8 64-bit



Removing the creative card and drivers did nothing I'm afraid :( Maybe a windows reinstall is around the corner.
Astralogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 10:16 PM   #8
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 214
OS:

My System


OS reinstall is one of the reasons I keep more than several Acronis backups on my systems. If nothing else than to rule out software or hardware changes that I have made if I had an issue, and in your case, and I did fully review your speccy report, it would be a good idea for a reinstallation to see if the same behavior is noticed with nothing but a fresh operating sytem installation. The reason I mentioned the Soundbalster Z card is because with each Windows 10 major update things are set back to default in an audio sense which then requires user intervention to get things back to normal. This happens with onboard Realtek Autio too - bit rate, all personal settings are gone. If your issue is merely freezing when opening sound settings this could point to either software or hardware, but again taking your operating system back to a fresh-state (as it were) will be very telling in regards to any issues you have. It's probably something very simple.
__________________
SpareChange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 07:07 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Before trying a Clean install, try a Repair Install (In Place Upgrade) https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...e-upgrade.html
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts