Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

Problem after installing new battery

This is a discussion on Problem after installing new battery within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have installed a new battery in my Toshiba laptop and weird things are happening. For startup I get this


Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2020, 12:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10



I have installed a new battery in my Toshiba laptop and weird things are happening. For startup I get this utility setup screen. Is this coming on because the laptop is sensing the new battery? I choose my settings, save them and exit each time but the screen still comes up on each startup. Should I be doing something else in my general settings and why is the laptop just turning off from time to time? I hope someone can help.
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2020, 01:59 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10



It doesn't seem to be a BIOS issue. Laptop is set up to boot from HDD. What could be causing this?
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 02:15 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,555
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
For startup I get this utility setup screen.
can you atatch a screenshot?
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2020, 04:25 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
can you atatch a screenshot?
I found this online. It looks like this. Sometimes the laptop will just shut down for no reason.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	toshiba.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	113.5 KB
ID:	325282  
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 04:59 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,555
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Did you Save and Exit?
Is this a brand new battery from Toshiba? or a 3rd party? like from China? or A Refurbished battery?
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 06:27 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10


I did save and exit. It is a third party battery. Should it be doing this? Should I put the original back in?
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 06:58 PM   #7
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 932
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



model number of the laptop?
__________________
steve32mids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 07:52 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10


Toshiba Satellite E45 B
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 08:01 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10


OK so I put back the old battery and I’m not getting that utility screen anymore. So obviously the new battery is causing this. What should I do?
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 11:11 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,555
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Return the battery and get one from Toshiba
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 11:22 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10


How can a battery cause this? Or are you guessing that it has to be a Toshiba battery?
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 01:01 AM   #12
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by usingpc View Post
How can a battery cause this? Or are you guessing that it has to be a Toshiba battery?
How? Because it has a fault in its circuitry, and you're lucky it hasn't fried the laptop's motherboard! You take a risk every time you buy or use power accessories from third-parties. Always remember that. There's a reason why manufacturers always advise against using such. It's not just a marketing gimmick.
usingpc likes this.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 10:46 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
How? Because it has a fault in its circuitry, and you're lucky it hasn't fried the laptop's motherboard! You take a risk every time you buy or use power accessories from third-parties. Always remember that. There's a reason why manufacturers always advise against using such. It's not just a marketing gimmick.
I'd like to buy an original from Toshiba, but my laptop is five years old. Is it possible to find one that hasn't been sitting on a shelf for years? And should it just be a quick change-out (i.e. you just put in the new battery and no OS issue like I had)?
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 12:26 PM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,555
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If you have trouble, there are stores on Ebay that offer Toshiba batteries with guarantees that they will work, and if not have an easy return policy. I have had great luck with them read the reviews. Match the part # with your old batteries Part#.
There should be no OS configuration with a new battery.
usingpc likes this.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 12:41 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
If you have trouble, there are stores on Ebay that offer Toshiba batteries with guarantees that they will work, and if not have an easy return policy. I have had great luck with them read the reviews. Match the part # with your old batteries Part#.
There should be no OS configuration with a new battery.
Thank you!
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 04:02 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10



I can't find a genuine part from Toshiba on Ebay or Amazon. Is there a reliable company that I can count on a replacement from that anyone can recommend?
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 05:43 PM   #17
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,555
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Match the part # with your old batteries Part#.
that's the best way
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 07:50 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
that's the best way
Okay, so I pulled the original battery out to find the part number. I put it back in and guess what? I get that same setup utility screen now on the original battery!

So I guess the new battery isn't the problem. There's something about plugging in a new battery that causes the laptop to behave this way. What could be wrong?
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 09:35 PM   #19
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10



The CMOS battery also needs replacing. With the CMOS battery being low and main battery removed, bios settings (and time/date) are lost/reset to defaults and you get that setup screen as a result.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 10:57 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 359
OS: windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
The CMOS battery also needs replacing. With the CMOS battery being low and main battery removed, bios settings (and time/date) are lost/reset to defaults and you get that setup screen as a result.
What if I don't want to take the laptop apart to change that? And to take it to a technician would probably cost a bundle. It's also an awfully strange coincidence that all of a sudden the CMOS (is that a backup battery of some kind?) would have a problem right when I was changing the regular battery. Are you certain?
usingpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts