Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

No WiFi network taskbar icon

This is a discussion on No WiFi network taskbar icon within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just installed a Netgear WNDR3700v1 router. I know it is broadcasting a WiFi network because my cellphone finds it


Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2020, 12:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 52
OS: Win 10



I just installed a Netgear WNDR3700v1 router. I know it is broadcasting a WiFi network because my cellphone finds it as available. My question is about what I should be seeing on my Windows 10 PC. I have no desktop taskbar icon and it is not listed in my available networks. I have 2 VPNs, one active, one nonactive, but both are shown as available. All my LAN devices are ethernet connected, but shouldn't I see the availability on this WiFi network and have the option of having it ON or OFF? I can find no indication of it in any of my Settings screens...but my cellphone sees it and connects automatically. Can someone offer this non-techie some explanation and/or fix, please?
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-01-2020, 01:29 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,023
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Just to make sure it's not something very simple, on the right side of taskbar choose the upward arrow and see if it's "hidden" there.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 01:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 52
OS: Win 10



Thanks, Corday. but's it not a hidden icon.
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-01-2020, 02:00 PM   #4
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 639
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


The only way this icon would not appear in the taskbar (and it does by default) is if someone turned it off in the Select which icons appear in the taskbar settings, and it's there as Network and toggled on initially, or if there's a corruption in your Windows 10 installation, or if the process for WiFi is somehow not running.

If that setting is toggled on, and you've restarted the system (as this will generally cause the network service for WiFi to start if somehow it didn't), then I'd consider Doing a Windows 10 Repair Install or Feature Update Using the Windows 10 ISO file .
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 02:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 52
OS: Win 10



Thanks, britechguy, but as I'm not a techie, I'll have to find someone local to help me do this...It does seem logical, though.
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 02:33 PM   #6
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 639
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


Those instructions are written to be about as step-by-step as can be, and are intended for "beginner through techie."
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 03:24 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 52
OS: Win 10



That sounds promising but I can't get your link to work (?).
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 03:28 PM   #8
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 639
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by weybrew View Post
That sounds promising but I can't get your link to work (?).
Then try later. It's the direct download link for the step-by-step instructions, stored on Google Drive. They've been there for as long as they've existed and I can still click through and immediately get a Save dialog when I do.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 05:06 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,552
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Pres the Windows key+R and type ncpa.cpl and press Enter. Here it will list all of the Network Connections you have. You can Right click your Wi-Fi connection and choose Connect
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 09:04 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 52
OS: Win 10



No WiFi network listed.
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 09:26 PM   #11
Moderator
Security Team
 
Gary R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 674
OS: W8.1 x64, Mint Cinnamon 19.2 x64, MX Linux x64



You are already being helped with this topic at Bleeping Computers ... https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/for.../#entry4958123 ... where it has already been determined that you do not appear to have a wi-fi network card installed.

Whilst we understand that you want to get your problem resolved as quickly as possible, posting for help with the same problem at multiple forums just wastes people's time, since people on one forum will have no idea what advice is being given on the other, and this will not only lead to a duplication of effort, but could also lead to potential problems.

Please decide which forum you want to be helped by,
__________________
Gary R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 11:28 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,552
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Did you ever have WiFi on your Desktop computer before?
If so, Press the Windows key+X choose Device Manager, are there any yellow flags next to any devices? Especially under Network Adapters? If so, these devices need drivers installed.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 05:35 AM   #13
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,023
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


weybrew: Are you sure the computer has a Wireless Network Adapter?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 05:49 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 52
OS: Win 10



Thanks to spunk.funk and Corday. I'm not sure if I ever had WiFi since I have always had this PC connected via Ethernet. I never considered that possibility before. Maybe I'll try a WiFi dongle...wouldn't that pick up any WiFi network my current router would be broadcasting?
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 05:51 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 52
OS: Win 10



Thanks for britechguy for that link. I have the download now. Thanks.
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 06:54 AM   #16
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 639
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


@weybrew: You have received good advice from @gary_r and those that have followed him based on what is now known.

If you do not have a WiFi card in the machine it is impossible to use WiFi. You can use a dongle, which is the functional equivalent, if you do not have a WiFi card.

Wherever you ask for help on anything, it is best to stick with a single venue from start to finish. If you don't settle the issue, then turn elsewhere.

It is also imperative that you mention things like never having used WiFi on a given machine and only having been connected by Ethernet. There are quite a few desktop machines "of a certain age" that never had WiFi because it was presumed they wouldn't need or use it.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 07:00 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 52
OS: Win 10



Thanks...did not know that.
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 03:19 PM   #18
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,552
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Maybe I'll try a WiFi dongle...wouldn't that pick up any WiFi network my current router would be broadcasting?
If the computer didn't come with a WiFi card and you did not install one, you will not be able to use WiFi.
Your Router puts out a WiFi signal for your Network, no others. Any others would be your neighbors networks. if you have a USB WiFi Dongle it should show your router as an Available WiFi Connection. Then you need to type in the WiFi Password, If you set one up, this all should be on the side of the Router, or in your instruction manual. https://www.netgear.com/support/product/WNDR3700v1
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 03:51 PM   #19
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 932
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit




watch this video hope it helps you out
__________________
steve32mids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 08:45 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 52
OS: Win 10



Thanks again. This looks a great link, especially for us non-techies.
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts