Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

Mice disconnect/reconnect, have tried a number of fixes

This is a discussion on Mice disconnect/reconnect, have tried a number of fixes within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've been using Windows 10 since 2015, and for months it was good. I ran into a few issues here

Closed Thread

Old 06-08-2016, 10:17 PM   #1
Registered Member

I've been using Windows 10 since 2015, and for months it was good. I ran into a few issues here and there but I've either solved them or learned to live with them. Originally I was using a Razer Naga mouse, one of the older ones, and that eventually ran into problems 3-4 months ago. For that mouse, it ended up being frayed wires, the common culprit. However, every mouse I've used since then has been disconnecting/reconnecting in a similar (but not the same) way.

When the Razer Naga disconnected, it did the whole thing. The lights turned off, Windows would make the USB disconnect sound (quickly followed by the reconnect sound), and it would start working again once the wire found that sweet spot. Now I used an old 4 button logitech as a backup, and while it's a little beat up, it still works. When that would disconnect it was like the sensitivity dropped to 0 and Windows didn't make any sound. I ordered a new 20 button logitech- a g600- and this mouse is still having the same issue. What this newer mouse showed me though is that the mouse never actually loses power.

I've tried a few different fixes for this:
  • While my computer is a desktop, someone recommended I turn off a specific setting in the device manager properties for USB Generic Hub, Root Hub, and Input Devices. "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power"