Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

Keyboard and/or mouse not starting

This is a discussion on Keyboard and/or mouse not starting within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am assuming that this is a Windows 10 problem. When the computer is turned on, the keyboard and/or the


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2020, 09:01 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 32
OS: Windows 8.1



I am assuming that this is a Windows 10 problem.


When the computer is turned on, the keyboard and/or the mouse are DOA. Unplugging their USB cable will start it/them.


The computer is a NUC. The SSD died ~2 months and was replaced. The OS, and other software & hardware, was re-installed.


Everything worked before.


Windows 10, Vers 1909 Build 18363.720.
NUC - Board: Intel Corporation D54250WYK H13922-303
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
BIOS: Intel Corp. WYLPT10H.86A.0053.2019.0703.1615 07/03/2019

Logitech Marble Mouse
Microsoft Digital Media Pro Keyboard, Model #1031


I realize that both the keyboard and mouse are somewhat old. I can not find the discs that came with either, or find old/new drivers online.
DoctorBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2020, 09:47 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,477
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Do the keyboard and mouse work in the BIOS?
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2020, 11:03 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 32
OS: Windows 8.1



Keyboard does not work at boot-up. Have not tried to use it in the BIOS. How do I get to the BIOS without a keyboard?
DoctorBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2020, 11:59 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,477
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



If a wired keyboard doesn't allow you to get into the BIOS, something may be wrong with the keyboard.

On some older computers, you needed to have a PS/2 keyboard in order to access the BIOS. I seriously doubt that would be available on an Intel NUC though.

Here's some How to get into the BIOS instructions for a NUC:
https://www.intel.com.tr/content/www...intel-nuc.html
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2020, 05:40 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,294
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Pressing the Del key at bootup should get you boot into Setup (Bios). The keyboard probably works in the Bios but not in Windows.
In the Bios, look for Integrated Peripherals or some such. Look for Legacy USB. If it is Disabled, using your Enter and Arrow keys, Enable it. Save and Exit.
spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2020, 07:55 AM   #6
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,477
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



https://www.intel.com.tr/content/www...intel-nuc.html
Quote:
If the F2 prompt doesn't appear on the screen, you might not know when you should press the F2 key. You can access BIOS Setup using the power button menu method:
  1. When the Intel® NUC is turned off (not in Hibernate or Sleep mode), press and hold down the power button for three seconds, and then release it before the 4-second shutdown override.
  2. The Power Button Menu displays.
  3. Press F2 to enter BIOS Setup.
  4. Go to Advanced > Boot > Boot Configuration.
  5. In the Boot Display Config pane, enable Display F2 to Enter Setup.
  6. Press F10 to save and exit BIOS.
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 02:09 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 32
OS: Windows 8.1



Wondering if this is a hub problem.
Using: Belkin Hi-Speed USB 2.0 7-port hub.
Any suggestions for a hub upgrade?
DoctorBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 02:31 PM   #8
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,477
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



To check and see if the hub is the problem, temporarily plug the keyboard and/or mouse directly into the computer.
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 04:12 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 32
OS: Windows 8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
To check and see if the hub is the problem, temporarily plug the keyboard and/or mouse directly into the computer.

Been there. When the keyboard is plugged into the computer, it works (3 days running (not a statically valid sample) but mouse did not work on 2 of 3 days. Plugged mouse in 1 day only and it worked (so did keyboard).


Keyboard and mouse work in BIOS.


There are 2 ports. One is the hub and the other is the digital camera, which will not work when plugged into the hub.


The hub, normally, supports:
Keyboard
Mouse
Color Laser Printer
Laser Printer
DVD Drive
DoctorBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 08:21 AM   #10
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,477
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Same problem when booting and running a different Operating System from a Live CD/USB?
A Live CD/DVD or USB flash drive contains a complete bootable computer operating system (OS). When you boot a computer from it, the OS loads into, and then runs from memory instead of a hard drive. This allows you to run an OS without installing it or making any changes to a computer's current configuration.

To create one, download an ISO file containing the OS you want to use, (such as Ubuntu, Slax or Zorin), then use something like ISO Recorder to burn it to a CD/DVD or USB key.

Now boot your computer from this disc/key and your computer will be running that OS instead of the one on its hard drive.

When you're done testing, simply reboot your PC from the hard drive.
If the problem persists even when running a different OS, then the issue is probably hardware related. If not, then it must be something Windows related.
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 10:17 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,294
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
There are 2 ports. One is the hub and the other is the digital camera
Your Hub is the issue. Does the USB Hub have it's own power supply? if not, you need a USB Hub with a power adapter. Something like this: https://simplynuc.com/product/7-port...0-powered-hub/
spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 10:59 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 32
OS: Windows 8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Your Hub is the issue. Does the USB Hub have it's own power supply? if not, you need a USB Hub with a power adapter. Something like this: https://simplynuc.com/product/7-port...0-powered-hub/

Currently using Belkin Hi-Speed USB 2.0 7-port hub, it is powered. However, as you can see, it is 2.0.

Upgrading would be to USB 3.0.

Other possibilities:
Anker 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub
AmazonBasics 7 Port USB 2.0 Hub
SmartDelux Powered USB Hub
Anker 7-Port USB 3.0 Data Hub

Suggestions/preferences?
DoctorBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 11:06 AM   #13
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 12,990
OS: windows 10

My System


If you do not have any usb 3 plugs in your computer then no need to get usb 3 hub
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 11:13 AM   #14
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,477
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Looks like it has 4 USB 3.0 ports, 2 front and 2 rear:https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us...d54250wyk.html
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 12:00 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 32
OS: Windows 8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
Looks like it has 4 USB 3.0 ports, 2 front and 2 rear:https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us...d54250wyk.html

Confirmed by Device Manager.






Suggestions on a hub?
DoctorBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 12:21 PM   #16
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,477
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



AmazonBasics USB-A 3.1 10-Port Hub with Power Adapter - 65W Powered (20V/3.25A), Black - $43.49
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts