Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

High CPU/Memory/Disk usage

This is a discussion on High CPU/Memory/Disk usage within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone, I recently upgraded my motherboard and CPU (specs at the end) and ever since I've done that, I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2018, 08:35 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
OS:



Hello everyone,

I recently upgraded my motherboard and CPU (specs at the end) and ever since I've done that, I get a high CPU/Memory/Disk usage. I'm not sure why, since I never encountered such a problem with my older motherboard and cpu. I've tried lots of things that were posted online where people had similiar problems but nothing could fix it.

Does anybody have an idea as to what causes it? Could the hardware be defect? I doubt it, I personally think it has something to do with Windows 10. At this point it's quite frustrating since nothing seems to work, I'm not good with computers so I lack a lot of knowledge when it comes to these things. Hopefully one of you has had a problem like that and fixed it or knows how to fix it. Furthermore I am sure that I have installed everything correctly and that all cables are where they should be.

Motherboard: ASUS Prime B360M-K
CPU: Intel Core i3-8100
RAM: Crucial CT8G4DFS824A.C8FHD1 1x8GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon RX 560-B
HDD: WD Blue 1TB, Toshiba MQ01ABD050 500GB
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition
RansomedSin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2018, 10:41 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,324
OS: Windows 10 Pro



After upgrading your mobo/cpu....did you do a clean install of windows 10? Did you install all your mobo drivers? Only running 1 stick of RAM is not recommended....system runs better with a dual channel (2 sticks) setup. No mention of PSU.
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 07-10-2018, 11:16 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
After upgrading your mobo/cpu....did you do a clean install of windows 10? Did you install all your mobo drivers? Only running 1 stick of RAM is not recommended....system runs better with a dual channel (2 sticks) setup. No mention of PSU.
Thank you for replying. Yes, I did a clean install of windows 10 and I have also installed all mobo drivers. I had used only 1 stick of RAM on my previous mobo and it was fine but I can see how 2 would be better. My PSU is a Xilence 400W.
I would like to add that I get spikes whenever I open up a program but after that it usually goes down to a low value. I have tried League of Legends to see how it would run and it didnt go above 30%, both CPU and Disk usage. The CPU temperature is around 31C and the Mobo temp around 35C in case you need to know.
RansomedSin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2018, 11:29 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,324
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Never heard of that PSU before....it might be that PSU is not regulating the power effectively enough (clean power). Low end and cheap PSUs will do that.

What brand is that GPU...XFX, Gigabyte, EVGA?

It just might boil down to the low end CPU you've chosen and GPU, along with just 1 stick of RAM.
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 07-10-2018, 01:22 PM   #5
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Quote:
Originally Posted by RansomedSin View Post
I recently upgraded my motherboard and CPU (specs at the end) and ever since I've done that, I get a high CPU/Memory/Disk usage.
How do you know this?

i.e., What app(s) are you using to measure CPU, RAM and HDD usage that tells you they are "high"?

To properly measure RAM/memory usage for a certain app, download Process Explorer from Microsoft.

For HDD usage - download Process Monitor from Microsoft.

CPU - Process Explorer would do just fine.

These apps that I have mentioned are stand alone executables from Microsoft SysInternals, so no program installation is required. After downloading and extracting the contents of each zip file, simply RIGHT-click on each; select "Run as Administrator".

Process Explorer - https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sys...ocess-explorer

Process Monitor - https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sys...nloads/procmon

I suggest that you download the zip files to \Documents or \Desktop and extract the contents of each zip file to the same.

In Process Explorer, select "View" then "Select Columns". Be sure that CPU and Working Set are checked. CPU is obvious; Working Set is the column for memory usage.

After setting ProcExp columns up, sort the listing by name (click on the word Process to sort the EXE's names. Then, sort by CPU column by clicking on CPU. It will show you the apps that are consuming most of the CPU.

To try and figure out HDD usage, Process Monitor (ProcMon) records EVERY disk file and registry I/O. ProcMon will be more difficult to work with. You'll have to turn "capture" off within 30-60 seconds as even that brief time may result in ProcMon capturing millions of records. Once you have captured x-number of records, you'll want to use ProcMon's summary features. You can summarize by path, file name, and others.

Good luck to you.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 07-11-2018, 01:53 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgriff2 View Post
How do you know this?

i.e., What app(s) are you using to measure CPU, RAM and HDD usage that tells you they are "high"?
Thank you for your reply. I used Task Manager to measure it. https://imgur.com/a/kDwy834
Also here are the results from Process Explorer.
https://imgur.com/a/eHEaDBB
Procmon.
https://imgur.com/a/ZhrUvsm
RansomedSin is offline  
Old 07-12-2018, 01:22 AM   #7
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



I don't see anything alarming as such, there are a high number of svchost processes, so I would probably go to Programs and Features and uninstall applications which are no longer required.

Disk usage is at 100% or high load, but again, if you have taken the screenshot a few minutes after the OS booted, chances are this may not be the correct picture.

I would first start to run the Hard disk test from the hard disk manufacturer's website. Additionally, if you have not properly uninstalled old drivers and installed the new drivers for the motherboard, this could be a contributor as well.

If the HDD comes up clean in the tests, I'd recommend backing up your data, doing a complete wipe, re-partition and install of Windows.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 07-12-2018, 03:41 AM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,686
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


I see nothing out of the ordinary either.

Chrome is a known memory hog, the sites it has open will contribute to CPU%.

Any recent HDD will manage 60-130+ MB/s throughput, your images indicate that the drive was never idle during the last 60 seconds, the actual HDD I/O usage appears to be minimal.
__________________
satrow is online now  
Old 07-14-2018, 11:51 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
OS:



Thank you all for the responses. An admin can close this thread, I have no more questions.
RansomedSin is offline  
Old 07-15-2018, 02:35 AM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,556
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You can mark this thread Solved in the Thread Tools at the top.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preparing Formatted Windows 7 PC
A long time ago I tried to install Windows XP on my old (2012) PC for retro gaming purposes. I gave up on this endeavor, as it is virtually impossible to find working drivers for XP that will make these modern parts work. So now, I formatted it again and re-installed 7. Except... the computer is...
MentalParadox Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 31 01-03-2017 10:08 AM
[SOLVED] PC Won't Boot After Cleaning
Hello all. I have a problem with my Windows 10 PC. Please bare with me with my long explanation. Please read and help. Every three months I open it up to clean it out with a can of compressed air. Today I did this and also replaced the optical drive as it had been acting up for a while where I...
Techie19 Windows 10 Support 38 12-07-2016 02:31 AM
Suspecting infection deep in the system
I've had a major problem with my laptop for quite a while now. When I launch certain programs I get the following error -> X.exe - Application Error The application failed to initialize properly (0xc000007b) Click OK to terminate the application. This error comes up if I try to start my...
Starenigma Resolved HJT Threads 17 05-01-2013 04:04 AM
Dell Latitude E6400 CPU Usage High
Hi all, A user has a laptop that has suddenly started getting very high CPU usage percentages. This came in conjunction with a start-up error message saying that the input power was not of a high enough quantity, so I tried a different charger and it stopped that message. But the problem...
HarleyThorne Laptop Support 1 11-02-2011 12:31 PM
3TB HDD won't format
I recently bought a 3TB 5400RPM hard drive and placed it in an enclosure. I orginially had connected it to my PC via USB 2.0 and formatted the entire drive and everything seemed to be in working order. After that I decided to connect the drive via eSATA because of the speed increase. When...
UhOhOhNo Hard Drive Support 8 09-13-2011 08:22 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts