Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

Floppy drive not working in Win 10

This is a discussion on Floppy drive not working in Win 10 within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My floppy drive shows up in device manager and in my computer, but it won't recognize a floppy disc when


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2015, 03:48 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


My floppy drive shows up in device manager and in my computer, but it won't recognize a floppy disc when inserted.
deweylovem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2015, 04:40 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


That's because there is no MS support for a floppy drive in Windows 10. I don't know of any third party that developed one. There's a chance that if you have floppies that you must use, a USB external floppy drive might work.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-31-2015, 05:59 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,555
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You can copy the files fdc.sys and flpydisk.sys from C:\Windows\System32\Drivers in Windows 7, 8 or 8.1 and copy them to the same place in Windows 10 to get the drive to work.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2016, 06:52 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


when I try to replace delete or rename the files I am told I need permission from trustedinstaller.
deweylovem is offline  
Old 01-01-2016, 06:59 AM   #5
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc753659.aspx
ALSO: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc753024.aspx
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-01-2016, 08:31 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


I was able to replace the win 10 files with the win 7 files, but I still cannot read a floppy disk.
deweylovem is offline  
Old 01-01-2016, 08:53 AM   #7
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I was not familiar with the file transfer Spunk recommended. He might have an idea. Are you sure the drive worked before updating to 10?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-01-2016, 09:38 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,054
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86

My System


I have multiple Windows 10 Pro x64 machines that have native floppy support (drivers as part of Windows 10). In particular build 10586.

I use both an external USB floppy drive and an internal floppy.


There were some earlier preview builds that did not have this support, however.
What build are you using?
Lead3 is offline  
Old 01-01-2016, 09:42 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


My floppy did work sometime before win 10, but It has been a long time. I just wanted to copy some files on the floppy disks. I don't plan on using it anymore.
I have win 10 pro, but don't know the build.
deweylovem is offline  
Old 01-01-2016, 09:46 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


The build is 10586.36
deweylovem is offline  
Old 01-01-2016, 09:50 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,054
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86

My System


Is your floppy internal or external (USB). As I said, it works for me with both and no special drivers.
Lead3 is offline  
Old 01-01-2016, 02:02 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,555
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


The Preview of Windows 10 had Floppy support removed, but there was so much push back from System builders that Microsoft added it back in on the more recent builds of Window 10. If Windows see's your floppy drive and you can put a disk in, and it recognizes the disk, then it is working. If you cannot copy files to the disk then the Floppy disk is damaged it will be unreadable.
Rather then futz with a floppy drive, get yourself a USB Flash drive. they have larger capacity and easier to work with.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-01-2016, 03:56 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


I will assume my drive is bad and will take my floppy disks to a machine that works to copy the files.
Thank you all for your help!!
deweylovem is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:09 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 924
OS: win 10 pro

My System


I found my problem. After removing the side cover, I saw that the floppy drive power cable was off. I connected it and now the floppy drive works. Sorry if I caused a problem!!!!
deweylovem is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:14 AM   #15
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Stuff happens!
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:15 AM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,054
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86

My System


Not a problem. I'm glad you got it to work.

Happy New Year!!
Lead3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Insp 15 3000 Series (Win 7/64) DVD drive not working
Hi, OS: Win 7 Pro (64 bit) I'm having a problem with my fairly new machine (less than half a year old) which I have posted about in the malware section of the forums (see...
aidansummer181 Laptop Support 5 05-10-2015 10:52 AM
Samsung M3 external hard drive and not working with Win 8.1?!
Hello! I recently bought a samsung portable hard drive from the M3 series with a 1TB storage capacity. My computer currently runs on Windows 8.1, x64, 4GB RAM and a 3Ghz processor When trying to install "Samsung drive manager" or any of the other software that came with the hard drive...
Vinegar Hard Drive Support 7 10-24-2013 05:07 PM
[SOLVED] Floppy Drive does not work
I had a Dell Optiplex GX100 computer which I took out the floppy drive and installed it in my Hp a620n computer. Rebooted the system and went into the bios to make sure it showed up. It does show that I have a 3.5 1.44 floppy drive. Tried writing to the floppy drive but the light did not come on....
satisfier23 Removable Media Drives 3 02-06-2012 05:52 PM
faulty memory? or something else?
I'm currently trouble shooting a memory issue on a Dell Dimension 2400. atm a new stick of 512MB memory, in either slot, seems to prevent the pc from booting, with OR without the original 256MB being present. Initially the new stick of memory, 512MB DDR PC2700, was installed into slot 2...
yoyojoe RAM and Power Supply Support 6 07-04-2011 01:46 PM
Adding hard disk in system
My pc (XP OS) has 2 internal hardisk 250 GB (all windows file are in this disk) n 1 TB recently i formatted my pc after removing 1 tb disk. Now i want to add this 1 TB harddisk again. It has a lot of data in it. how can i do this without affecting any of my data Kindly help me with this.
gourmand Hard Drive Support 6 06-12-2011 02:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts