Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

Edge not working but other browsers ok

This is a discussion on Edge not working but other browsers ok within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, Windows 10 laptop, Avast free wasn't working so I removed it and ran a Malwarebytes scan followed by a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2018, 12:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 233
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64


Send a message via MSN to cdpaul

Hi,
Windows 10 laptop, Avast free wasn't working so I removed it and ran a Malwarebytes scan followed by a Sophos online scan. When I opened Edge (To download Avast again) I got the Hmm we couldn't find that page message.

When I do ipconfig it shows an ip that isn't in the range 192.168 for IPv4 and nothing for default gateway (Don't know if this is relevant).

One last thing, when I look in services at DNS Client, it shows as Automatic and running but the start/stop are greyed out.

Any ideas please?
cdpaul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2018, 04:29 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,707
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, well your sig shows windows seven, yet you have posted in the win 10 forum?

DNS service is a system service and as such you are meant to leave it alone, unlike win 7 though, in win 10 if DNS client is disabled, it won't effect internet connectivity. I fail to see how other browsers work if ipconfig doesn't show the default gateway that is the handshake to your router, and effects internet connectivity (ie none).

Looks like removing third party AV utils has messed up your computer, in win 10 you really only need windows defender and windows defender firewall. Did you use the avast uninstall util to remove it, programs and features is not sufficient to remove an AV.

You most likely need to repair your winsock and for good measure ipv 4.

Go to search and type:- command prompt, right click on the returned command prompt and select "run as administrator" an elevated cmd prompt will open.

At the prompt copy paste:-

netsh int ip reset (press enter) Do not worry if some of these fail in your case this should be OK. Do not restart computer when asked. Next still at the command prompt copy paste:-

netsh winsock reset (press enter) This time restart computer when prompted.

Next turn off your computer and disconnect the power completely(if a laptop take out the battery as well). Leave the computer off.

Turn off your router and remove all power to it. leave for at least 20 secs then restart the router, wait until all the connection led lights on the router show.

next restart your computer. Check your internet now. let us know how you get on, before doing anything I would use the Avast uninstaller first:-

https://www.avast.com/en-au/uninstall-utility
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 02-07-2018, 04:35 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,630
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Can you get to any other web site with Edge?
Press the Win key+S in search box type Control Panel. Click Internet Options/Connections tab/Lan Settings. Make sure all boxes are Unchecked.
Press the Win key+S to open search and type CMD, Right click the CMD results and Run As Administrator. In the Elevated Command Prompt type or paste this command into it
Ipconfig /all> 0 & notepad 0
and press Enter. Copy the Notepad results and Paste them into your next post.
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2018, 08:30 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,707
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi spunk might be best if we wait until the OP comes back, if there is no default gateway (OP says they ran ipconfig "nothing for default gateway) so no connection.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 02-08-2018, 12:37 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,630
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If you look at the Time Stamp Jenae, you will see I was typing the same time you were, you just beat me to it.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 02-08-2018, 10:36 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 233
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64


Send a message via MSN to cdpaul

My PC is Windows 7 but this is a mates laptop who isn't very tech savvy and asked me to look for him.

I've followed your instructions and now my gateway is showing correctly but I still can't view ANY webpages in Edge but can in Chrome and Internet Explorer.

I have run Avast removal tool.
cdpaul is offline  
Old 02-08-2018, 01:55 PM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,707
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, open pc settings and select "Apps" scroll to you find microsoft edge, then select advanced options, next, select the repair option. Restart computer.

If this fails we can reinstall edge, let us know how you get on.

Personally I would never use edge, I have removed it from my computer and prefer Chrome...up to you.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 02-08-2018, 01:59 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 233
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64


Send a message via MSN to cdpaul

I told my mate, I had sorted the Avast (it wouldn't open so he couldn't scan) but I was concerned that Edge not working might mean an infection. Otherwise he is happy to use Chrome :)
cdpaul is offline  
Old 02-08-2018, 02:11 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 233
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64


Send a message via MSN to cdpaul

I followed your last instructions but it's still the same. Looks like just Chrome from now on
cdpaul is offline  
Old 02-08-2018, 02:18 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 233
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64


Send a message via MSN to cdpaul

Thank you for looking at this for me :)
cdpaul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Localhost Blocked, Browsers Not Working, Ping not working
I posted this at bleepingcomputer.com but no replies yet. I've run a few suggested scans but I don't know if I should run any additional scans like ComboFix and whatnot... (copied from my post at the other forum) I can't ping. I can't browse (in any browser). Firewall is running. Wifi is...
crazykid Networking Support 6 06-11-2014 09:57 AM
Keyboard and mouse not working :(
So, the problem is, the keyboard and mouse are not working, so i cannot do anything on my computer (laptop). The problems began yesterday, after I turned automatic updates ON, and downloaded a lot of updates and I installed them (77 of them) :D After that, I restarted computer and it worked...
tekun Laptop Support 7 05-19-2012 05:21 PM
Internet working, but none of my browsers are opening.
At first my computer was working fine but then when I turned it off for a little bit I tried to get on the Internet but none of the browsers(IE, Fire Fox, Google Chrome, or Safari) were working. I tried running the malware check program and it only detected 1 thing. I removed it then restarted my...
dtm5340 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 01-21-2012 09:56 PM
Browser's not working
Well, currently I'm using a different computer, but my Windows 7 computer can't run either Firefox or Internet Explorer, both are up to date, but do not work. When I try to run them, the window doesn't open or, it opens for about three seconds before closing. Occasionally I'll get an error saying...
Stickydr Mozilla/Firefox Browsers 7 01-21-2012 03:58 PM
Internet Browsers Not Working
I don't really know what did I do but I guess it had something to do with my java updating itself last night. After that, my internet browser is not working anymore. I have 4 different browsers on my computer - Firefox, Chrome, Safari and IE. Firefox, Chrome and Safari totally cannot LOAD any...
prelude23 Inactive Malware Help Topics 3 03-20-2011 06:54 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts