Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support

User Tag List

Admin Need

This is a discussion on Admin Need within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have had a few programs the stated I need Administrator Permission, I tried all the Google programs, none worked.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2020, 02:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Red Bank NJ
Posts: 183
OS: Win 7 64



I have had a few programs the stated I need Administrator Permission, I tried all the Google
programs, none worked. Is there a tried and true version that works? T.I.A.
durkinjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2020, 02:09 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,297
OS: win 10 Home



I take it you are on win 10 since you posted here, did you try the steps here https://www.itechtics.com/run-programs-administrator/
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 02:09 PM   #3
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,884
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


A tried and true version of what??
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2020, 02:13 PM   #4
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 836
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


And even if one is using an account with administrative privileges, User Account Control (UAC) will prompt to run with elevated privileges for quite a few programs when you fire them up. These are generally shown with an icon that has the UAC shield overlay at the lower right corner of the icon on the desktop.

I can't figure out precisely what is being asked about by the OP, either.
britechguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 02:34 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Red Bank NJ
Posts: 183
OS: Win 7 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
I take it you are on win 10 since you posted here, did you try the steps here https://www.itechtics.com/run-programs-administrator/
Thanks, after I hit apply, I got the message I needed Admi rights to open.
durkinjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 02:36 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Red Bank NJ
Posts: 183
OS: Win 7 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Deejay100six View Post
A tried and true version of what??
I was hoping someone with more experience might have had the same problem and could give me the solution they used.
durkinjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 02:44 PM   #7
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,205
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


If you really explained the problem any of the responders could have helped you.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 03:22 PM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,055
OS: Win7



Are you on a user account or admin account?
Is this your PC or a company/school PC?
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 03:33 PM   #9
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,884
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


@ durkinjt, did you try right clicking the program and selecting Run as Administrator?
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2020, 02:45 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,637
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


We need more information. As stated;
What program are you trying to install?
Did you right click the Setup.exe of the Program and choose to Run As Administrator?
Even if you Run a Program As Administrator, you will be prompted by UAC to click OK for Administrator rights.
Some files are System Files and you do not have Permission to Run these programs as Administrator or not, because it may damage the system.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2020, 07:16 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Red Bank NJ
Posts: 183
OS: Win 7 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Deejay100six View Post
@ durkinjt, did you try right clicking the program and selecting Run as Administrator?
Thanks Dave, its fixed.
durkinjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2020, 11:47 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,637
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


We're glad you got it sorted. Please mark this thread Solved in the Thread Tools at the top.
Attached Images
 
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 09:22 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 35
OS: Win98/2000/XP



Turn off that UAC!
jonnyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 09:48 AM   #14
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,297
OS: win 10 Home



That is not a good idea, it is a security feature so that you avoid as much as is possible getting something added (ie a program) that you would not want, whilst not foolproof it can at least give you time to think about what you want installed.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 11:38 AM   #15
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 836
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
That [Turning UAC Off] is not a good idea, it is a security feature so that you avoid as much as is possible getting something added (ie a program) that you would not want, whilst not foolproof it can at least give you time to think about what you want installed.
A big, honkin' second of that!!

There was a time when I found UAC prompts quite annoying. Not any more, and it's saved me a couple of times.
britechguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts