Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 8, 8.1 Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] How to change name for new user

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] How to change name for new user within the Windows 8, 8.1 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have just set up a new user on my Windows 8.1 desktop computer for my daughter. At no point


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2015, 04:40 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,238
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



I have just set up a new user on my Windows 8.1 desktop computer for my daughter.

At no point in the procedure did it ask for what name the user should have. She just logged in with her Hotmail account.

Now, when I go to c:\users, her username is shown as karen_000.

Firstly, how is this username determined?

Secondly, is it possible to change the user to Karen.

T
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2015, 06:30 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,249
OS: Windows 10 Pro



There should have been some where in the user account setup to input a name for the new user.

Yes...go to accounts and find the user you want and select edit.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is online now  
Old 01-18-2015, 06:52 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,238
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks bassfisher6522

I can't seem to find anywhere to do that. It seems strange that you are not allowed to give the new user a "Name" at the point of creating it, but that was not an option.

Remember, I'm only enquiring why it appears as Karen_000 in c:\users and trying to ascertain how that is determined.

The attached shows what options are available when the user goes to control panel/users

T
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	39
Size:	7.8 KB
ID:	215090  
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2015, 11:20 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,457
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You are allowed to choose a name during the setup, however, you opted to use her Microsoft account on the machine. The username "Karen_000" was taken from her Microsoft account.

See if changing the name online helps:

How do I change my Microsoft account name? - Windows Help
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 01-18-2015, 01:26 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,238
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Masterchiefxx17

Her name is set up correctly in her online account and displays correctly in the start screen if I, for instance, want to switch users.

What's driving me crazy is how the name is displayed in c:\users.

I registered myself in the exact same way on the PC and my first name appears in c:\users (as I would expect), but my daughters is shown as karen_000.

It does allow "rename", but I'm terrified of what the result might be!!

Would be much better to understand the logic behind this ridiculous naming of the user in c:\users!!!

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 01-18-2015, 01:30 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,457
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Since the account is brand new, you may wish to delete the account and restart it.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 01-18-2015, 01:38 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,238
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks,

I found this article in the Microsoft Windows help pages.

https://social.technet.microsoft.com...w8itprogeneral

It's all very confusing!!!!!!!

I'll delete her account and then recreate as a local account. I'll also close this thread.

Thanks to everybody who assisted.

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 01-19-2015, 10:32 PM   #8
TSF Emeritus
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 15,079
OS: Windows 8.1



Quote:
What's driving me crazy is how the name is displayed in c:\users.

I registered myself in the exact same way on the PC and my first name appears in c:\users (as I would expect), but my daughters is shown as karen_000.

It does allow "rename", but I'm terrified of what the result might be!!

Would be much better to understand the logic behind this ridiculous naming of the user in c:\users!!!
This is actually set up like this on purpose. his is set up on purpose so that programs that dont use environmental paths will still function.

For example if I create a user account on my computer called "Alex" and I start to install all these programs that stores files inside the C:\users\Alex, then I go and rename the account to GoThePower all these programs will still be looking for the old account path. This is not an issue with Windows though, Microsoft had to make it this way because of the way other company's would code their applications. If you see the following files for example before renaming my user account the paths would be:
C:\users\Alex\Desktop\Fungame.exe
C:\users\Alex\Music\SuperCoolSong.mp3

Now if I rename my user account to GoThePower and Windows did rename the C:\users\Alex folder to C:\users\GoThePower, You would come along to launch your FunGame.exe and the program will start looking for this .exe file inside C:\users\Alex\Desktop\Fungame.exe as that was where it originally installed too. But of course it will not be able to find it because the new path of this file is called C:\users\GoThePower\Desktop\FunGame.exe, and all sorts of errors will come up saying the file can not be found etc. This is one of the reason's why Windows does not rename the folder.

Now take the other file C:\users\Alex\Music\SuperCoolSong.mp3 and this is stored inside your Music player with the above path and you rename the account to GoThePower, your music player will not be able to find your song that you previously had and would report it as missing or deleted.
Go The Power is offline  
Old 01-20-2015, 02:23 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,238
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Go The Power for that comprehensive reply.

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 01-22-2015, 11:39 PM   #10
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,329
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Using Windows System Restore would be your best bet to fully remove the new unwanted user account. Choose a restore point prior to the creation of the new user account.

Then create a new LOCAL account.

Create a user account - Windows Help
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 01:59 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,238
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks jcgriff2

That's a good idea

T
tomohawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some help with start up issue then crash
Hi I got what I think is a minor problem but i dont know how to fix it. I just cleared out some malware (with some good advice from another forum that focus on malware), did some system maintenance and while I was updating the drivers seem to have disturbed the operating system. There is no...
simon255 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 2 04-03-2013 05:44 PM
User Name Change
In my area, Goodwill sells refurbished computers, and I purchased one. The standard practice of Good Will is to create the default user of the computer. In that regard, there is a locked symbol on that account. And I discovered this Naming after I installed all of the Programs on the computer. ...
wcjenkinsjr Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 11 02-01-2013 10:37 AM
McAfee disappeared
Two days ago I noticed the McAfee icon missing from my desk top and the tray and it did not appear to be running. I reinstalled it from their website and ran a full scan. It found Generic Exploit!p2u in c:\DocumentsandSettings\Bob\Local\Settings\Temp\jar_cache2076161686850398746.tmp. Since then...
BobinNJ Resolved HJT Threads 21 04-23-2012 06:12 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts