Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 8, 8.1 Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Acer laptop with Win 8.1 will not configure updates

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Acer laptop with Win 8.1 will not configure updates within the Windows 8, 8.1 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Brand new laptop started having a problem with updates. Downloads vast numbers of them, then gets to 8% of configuring,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2015, 09:18 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
OS: WinXP Pro



Brand new laptop started having a problem with updates. Downloads vast numbers of them, then gets to 8% of configuring, restarts, tries to resume configuring and then gives an error message that it can't configure and is undoing changes.

I have reinstalled (reset) Windows, but still have the problem.

I can still send it back for a hardware repair, but suspect it might be software?

Could someone help?
Supersadie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-22-2015, 09:27 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Vizuliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Midi Pyrenees
Posts: 61
OS: W8.1; W7; Vista; XPSP3



Have you tried deselecting all the updates and then manually selecting only a few - for example, say 5 or 10 at a time?

I have seen Windows get confused when it has many updates to install. Installing them in smaller blocks often resolves the issue. But it needs lots of patience because you have to go through the Restart process for every block.

As you have described the problem it is unlikely that it is a hardware issue.

Viz
Vizuliz is offline  
Old 06-22-2015, 10:44 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
OS: WinXP Pro



Thanks Vizuliz. I tried downloading half a dozen manually and it just stuck on updates downloading. I then tried a little update file on its own - about 3mb. Same thing happened.
Appreciate advice about hardware. Am loathe to send it back and like Acers, but this one's been trouble from go so I suspect it's Win 8.1 that's the culprit.
Supersadie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-22-2015, 10:57 AM   #4
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,285
OS: Windows 10


Hi. What's the make and model of the laptop? Has Windows Update been working before this problem began, or did it never work from the start? We may have more details about the problem in the event logs, so kindly export your logs, compress them and attach in your next reply so that we can have a look at them.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 06-22-2015, 11:18 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Vizuliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Midi Pyrenees
Posts: 61
OS: W8.1; W7; Vista; XPSP3



For the moment perhaps you could put the update issue aside and just see how the computer works and run some tests.

Suggest that you avoid the Internet as much as is practical, because there will be many security updates among the uninstalled updates.

Acer have a hardware test utility. It may come preinstalled or you may have to download it from the Acer website. Run the test two to three times to make sure that the hardware is OK. In Windows Control Panel, under Administrative Tools you will find a Memory Diagnostic Test. Run that as another check. You could also run from an Elevated Command Prompt the chkdsk with the /r switch to ensure that the disk is OK.

After that just play around with some programs that are preinstalled, such as Paint, Steps Recorder, Task Manager, Control Panel....

If the hardware tests are all good (and I suspect that they will be) and the programs run as you expect them to then we can be certain that it is a Windows issue.

Viz
Vizuliz is offline  
Old 06-23-2015, 02:42 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
OS: WinXP Pro



Thanks both. The updates have now decided to try installing themselves while I was using the computer, rather than when I restart. I'll try what you have suggested when the control panel becomes available again and let you know...
Many thanks again...
Supersadie is offline  
Old 06-23-2015, 07:21 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
OS: WinXP Pro



Ok, so after three hours of downloading updates manually, the thing shut down, spent half an hour restarting and has now booted up. I said there was 1 update to download. I refreshed the updates box and see there are 117 so obviously the updates didn't configure. Could someone explain how to create/find the log?
I have got into event viewer but don't know what I'm looking for..
Supersadie is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 03:57 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
OS: WinXP Pro



Ok. Little update for you. I used the memory check utility. No problems there. Then I just downloaded the update at the top of my list and restarted. Then I downloaded a few more without a hitch. Now I'm working down the list in batches of 12 installing and restarting. Maybe it was clogged with updates (technical term). Thanks for all your kind help and suggestions.
Supersadie is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 08:53 AM   #9
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,895
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Hi,

Just a thought but are you downloading the updates through a wireless connection?
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 10:43 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Vizuliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Midi Pyrenees
Posts: 61
OS: W8.1; W7; Vista; XPSP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by Supersadie View Post
.... Now I'm working down the list in batches of 12 installing and restarting..... .
Chopin playing softly in the background will keep you sane through this process....

Viz
Vizuliz is offline  
Old 06-25-2015, 02:03 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
OS: WinXP Pro



Ha! I do listen to him as it happens. I also find Vivaldi helpful, but not necessarily Four Seasons.
Yes, Dave, it is a wireless connection...thoughts?
Supersadie is offline  
Old 06-25-2015, 08:19 AM   #12
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,895
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Supersadie View Post
Yes, Dave, it is a wireless connection...thoughts?
Yes, of course it would be better wired. Do you have that option?
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 06-25-2015, 11:21 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
OS: WinXP Pro



All sorted now and up to date but for the future...sure I have an ethernet cable somewhere. However, thought that would only affect downloads not configuration. But what do I know?! :)
Supersadie is offline  
Old 06-25-2015, 12:06 PM   #14
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,895
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Supersadie View Post
thought that would only affect downloads not configuration.
Of course, apologies for not realising that.

Glad its sorted anyhow!

Could you mark it solved please, Thread Tools at top of page?
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 06-26-2015, 11:37 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Vizuliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Midi Pyrenees
Posts: 61
OS: W8.1; W7; Vista; XPSP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by Supersadie View Post
All sorted now and up to date but for the future... :)
And you have retained your sanity and sense of humour..... I have got to listen to more Vivaldi methinks... :-)

Viz
Vizuliz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virus: Network card, USB, Audio
Hello, It seems like I've run into quite the virus lately and was hoping that someone could help me out. While everything was working fine I tried to plug in a USB mouse and had no success. When I went to plug it in nothing popped up that it was recognized, so I decided to restart my laptop,...
Ajjr108 Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 11-04-2011 01:43 PM
Acer laptop crashed - please help me!
Hi, Some time ago someone gave me an Acer Aspire 9410 laptop (Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2080, 2Go RAM, runs Windows Vista w/ SP1). After running into some trouble trying to clean it up from all the obscure Acer programs + the programs and associated files of the previous user (I apparently messed...
Max0 Laptop Support 16 10-30-2011 08:12 PM
virus...
Hello, Recentlly I got a problem with a evil virus. It start to delete .dll files , don't alow me to enable antivirus or any program that affect it (close those automaticlly when they...scan the virus), it open some certain .exe files that slow down my internet acces at the limit where i can't...
iully25 Resolved HJT Threads 47 09-25-2011 02:48 PM
Acer Laptop Dead
Hi, I need some help and some what confused. I have an Acer Laptop, Im not entirely sure on the specs 1. Laptop is not here 2. its about 3 years old. Me and my wife use it to watch movie or TV and always have a main power cable connected. One day we were watching and the light indicating...
Wootje Laptop Support 3 09-10-2011 10:53 AM
Acer Laptop start up issue
Laptop: Acer Aspire 3003LCi I'm not sure if the problem I am having with this laptop is a hardware or software issue. I have the AC adapter plugged in with no battery. I completely dismantled the laptop to the motherboard with every add-n removed including hard-drive, Wifi Card, DVD drive, and...
Darkfox3393 Laptop Support 1 06-17-2011 09:18 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts