Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 8, 8.1 Support

User Tag List

My computer starts, but nothing happens.

This is a discussion on My computer starts, but nothing happens. within the Windows 8, 8.1 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello there.\I am not sure if I have posted in the right category since I don't know what causes the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2013, 09:41 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 8



Hello there.\I am not sure if I have posted in the right category since I don't know what causes the problem. Please let me know if it is in the wrong section and I'll move it.Anyway, I woke up this morning and turned my computer on, only to find that although the fans start up normally, pretty much nothing else happens. The first two times I turned it on, it started up normally and showed the starting black with white letters screen listing the connecting devices, and then it just turned off. The second time I tried was the same, while on the third, fourth and thousandth time, nothing showed on the screen. I had this problem before and that time it turned out my GPU was short-circuited. However, that time my pc was running and then a green screen came up and when I hard restarted it, it wouldn't turn on. Anyway I read almost every forum and blog on the internet with problems related to mine but to no avail. I removed all none necessary hardware but still nothing happened. I tried resetting my BIOS, couldn't find the jumper so I just removed the battery and put it back in (Not sure if that reset my BIOS but it definetly didn't work). I have something that could have caused this in mind, but I don't think that's what it is. There is a lot of humidity where I live right now (70%). Is there any way that could be the problem? In any case, thank you in advance.

Kostas
kostaskol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2013, 09:52 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


can you tell us the specs of the computer?

if it is a pre built system like a dell or HP can you tell us he model number and if you have added anything to it?

If it is a computer you have built yourself can you tell us all the parts it has?

It sounds like a power supply problem, can you tell us what power supply it is, if you dont know open up the case and look at it. There will be a label on it saying the make and wattage.

If it is humid where you are you need to keep the system free of dust otherwise it will over heat. Buy a can of compressed air, open up the case and blow any dust out.
__________________
Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 10-16-2013, 10:01 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 8



Ok. I initially bought it as a pre-built pc, but I have made quite a few modifications. At any rate, my current build includes :
Intel Core 2 Quad @ 2.4GHz
MSI Geforce 630 GPU
I really can't remember the motherboard's name. However it is MSI manufactured.
A Turbo X 550 Watt PSU
750 GB Hard drive
4 GB Corsair RAM
and I'm guessing you don't really care about the CD drivers.

I don't have a can of compressed air but I used a hair dryer on cold mode and it got most of the dust out. Did this by any chance do the trick or should I go buy a can?

Edit :
I checked on the motherboard and it says : MS - 7592 version 5.2 (Hope it helped)
kostaskol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2013, 10:08 AM   #4
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


you shouldn't use a hair dryer even on cold. Things like that promote static electricity which destroy computer components.You should get a can of compressed air.

Can you borrow a power supply from someone to try? your power supply is a bargain basement make and a bunch of crap that is probably struggling to run your system.
__________________
Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 10-16-2013, 10:42 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 8



I have another cable of my own and I used it but nothing changed. I really don't think it's the PSU though. 550 watt should be plenty to keep a low-end system such as mine up and running normally. Now if you were talking about the brand (Turbo X) I have had a few more electronics from it and they all work perfectly so I don't think it's either the quality or the wattage of the PSU. Maybe it broke but I find it very unlikely as well. 1st I bought it a couple of months back and 2nd I turned my pc off for the night and it did some updates (automatically) and when I turned it on in the morning it gave me the problem. How could the PSU break while off? Also is there any way that I have caused permanent damage to my pc with the blow dryer? Thanks for your answers
kostaskol is offline  
Old 10-16-2013, 11:53 AM   #6
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


I used to test power supplies for a living and I guarantee you that your power supply is one of the worst ones. It doesn't even have a warranty.

Low quality power supplies can die at any time whilst the wattage is fine the quality is not. Just because fans turn on doesn't mean the power supply is ok.

You need to eliminate probabilities, so you need to see if you can borrow a known good psu to try.

Unless you had a power cut whilst the updates were installing that would not cause any problems.

If you used the hair dryer before this happened that could also be the cause and if it has caused esd damage then there is nothing you can do to fix it.

Remove the RAM from the system and boot if you do not hear any beeps then that would indicate a motherboard problem. I assuming you have an on board speaker
__________________
Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 10-16-2013, 12:02 PM   #7
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


Your psu is either the bestec or electrnix made version both of those manufacturers make low quality power supplies and whenever there is an issue like that these manufacturers are very suspect.
__________________
Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] help!!!! guy gone crazy with bluscreans!!!:@:@
i have an intel dh55hc motherboard in my pc i built my pc during summertime and at that time i got the patriot ram ... the whole stock had problems .. (they work with onestick bt the pc wont boot with 2 sticks) so i had a stick of 2gigs of that ram .. then i upgraded it with a kingston ram ..and...
avok95 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 21 11-17-2013 06:14 AM
BSOD with new vegas
Hi, I usually played this game fine, it BSOD a couple of time during gameplay but they were always isoleted accidents. Now I've re installed it and Every time I go out of the first building it BSOD after the loading screen. I've done a memory check and it came out without errors. Can someone...
Eingya PC Gaming Support 2 11-21-2012 03:31 PM
Malware/Adware - Ads placed on web pages
Hello, I seem to have gotten some sore of computer infection. I know so by the fact that most of the web pages I go to are placed with ads inside of them that aren't actually supposed to be a part of them. Very weird. Seems to slowed down loading as well but could just be my mind playing tricks...
ca4224 Resolved HJT Threads 26 11-16-2012 05:00 AM
Computer starts, loads icons, programs work 3 seconds... then all freezes.
Hi fellas. So heres the issue. I start my computer, everything goes fine and it logs itself in. All like normal. Then, it loads the icons, and the programs, and everything looks good. Then, the issue begins when I try to start a program.
TiiWii Laptop Support 23 02-25-2011 12:06 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts