Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Smart Devices > Windows Mobile

User Tag List

Splash image

This is a discussion on Splash image within the Windows Mobile forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi All, I have just purchased a Lumia 950 MS mobile off EBay. I have edited the unlocked phone and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2018, 09:17 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
lucidoobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 391
OS: Win10


Send a message via Skype™ to lucidoobe

Hi All,

I have just purchased a Lumia 950 MS mobile off EBay.

I have edited the unlocked phone and personalized to almost satisfactory - except for the turn on splash screen after the |Microsoft logo, which is a gaudy Telstra image!!

I have been told by an expert at the local PC shop that "I will never be able to rid myself of it because it must have been an initial purchase OEM from Telstra?

I have only changed the lock screen and working background image. I don't see the Telstra image anywhere in storage, and in fact the phone is running a TPG sim.

Any help would be appreciated in advance.

cheers
lucidoobe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2018, 10:58 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Wizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Caribbean
Posts: 5,022
OS: WIN7 ULTIMATE - 64 bit (SP1), FIREFOX, ASUS G75 'ROG' laptop(s)



Quite often the service provider will send their logo (splash screen) when initial power on is done on their network, so you might not likely see the image locally. The provider usually controls what is displayed on their network at power up.

__________________
"The pure and simple truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

"First get your facts; then you can distort them at your leisure." - Mark Twain

"Remember - HARDWARE is the part of the computer that can be KICKED!" - WIZMO
Wizmo is offline  
Old 02-18-2018, 10:59 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,538
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Maybe a nice mod can move this thread to the Windows Mobile section of the forum for better results
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2018, 06:21 AM   #4
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



You can search for a custom build or a WWE build which is generic and doesn't carry an Operatory logo or their crapware, it's not a one step solution though, read through a complete flash procedure including how it impacts, data loss, etc..

The legality is always debated around this so I'm going to let a mod decide.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 02-20-2018, 02:05 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
lucidoobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 391
OS: Win10


Send a message via Skype™ to lucidoobe

I moved a copy to Windows Mobiles - didn't see that available or look hard enough Thank you.
Not sure I know what a WWE actually is?
lucidoobe is offline  
Old 02-23-2018, 01:34 AM   #6
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



It's Worldwide ROM, so basically there is no customization and is sort of like the Generic build. You might have to search on Google for a ROM specific for your device..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 02-24-2018, 04:48 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
lucidoobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 391
OS: Win10


Send a message via Skype™ to lucidoobe

Mmmm.... thanx people.

Seen a couple of articles re custom ROM and flash, but caveated with warnings of bricking the phone too!!

As I'm not confident of this myself, I might have to live with the splash Telstra and bite the bullet - minor irritation?
lucidoobe is offline  
Old 02-24-2018, 10:38 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Wizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Caribbean
Posts: 5,022
OS: WIN7 ULTIMATE - 64 bit (SP1), FIREFOX, ASUS G75 'ROG' laptop(s)



Minor irritation versus brick? I'll take the irritation!

__________________
"The pure and simple truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

"First get your facts; then you can distort them at your leisure." - Mark Twain

"Remember - HARDWARE is the part of the computer that can be KICKED!" - WIZMO
Wizmo is offline  
Old 02-26-2018, 12:29 AM   #9
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Flashing the custom ROM is easy way out, if you want to use InterOp, you need to hack the registry, create your own Boot logo image and place it in the correct folder, change the registry entry pointing to your logo and it should be able to do it.

Either way, risk is involved, if you're a noob at this, not worth the risk..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to access & recover my encrypted files?
Hello everyone, Let me preface this by thanking you in advance for your upcoming patience with my Ubuntu/Linux n00bnessosity. Long story short: have dell precision M3800 laptop with Ubuntu 14.04 pre-loaded from the factory. Due to various issues with 14.04, Dell techs had me upgrade to 16.04....
muesliporcupine Linux Support 16 01-22-2017 02:34 PM
[SOLVED] Difference between System Image and Data Backup
I have just bought a new Asus Desktop PC running Windows 8.1 (64-bit) and also have bought a 1TB external drive. According to this article from Microsoft Back up your programs, system settings, and files - Windows Help the link to creation of a system image includes "When you restore your computer...
tomohawk Windows 8, 8.1 Support 22 01-09-2015 08:11 AM
Internet Explorer stops responding or runs slow
I have an older laptop with an Intel processor and 4GB of RAM running Vista. I am having issues which seem mainly to be in Internet Explorer and to a lesser extent in other programs as well. There are times when going into Windwos Mail that I get a message at the top of the page that says not...
jackdup Resolved HJT Threads 61 01-03-2015 03:15 PM
Specialist Crime Directorate?
I have got the Specialist Crime Directorate Ransomware virus and I need help on removing it. My computer won't boot in safe mode with networking or cmd, help!:frown:
josh1929 Resolved HJT Threads 36 09-03-2013 06:05 PM
Need Help to insert "Please Wait" image jQuery
Hii...i have created a Gallery for my website..now i want to add a Please Wait gif image between every picture until it loads completely..Please Help.. :) HTML Part : <div id="gellary"> <center> <form name=slideform> <table cellspacing=1 cellpadding=4 bgcolor="#4b7b9f"> <tr> <td...
ygssoni Web Design & Development 1 11-10-2011 11:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts