Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Smart Devices > Windows Mobile

User Tag List

Downloading apps

This is a discussion on Downloading apps within the Windows Mobile forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I was wondering since my mobile plan doesn't have internet is there an easy, legal way to download apps to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2011, 02:19 PM   #1
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


I was wondering since my mobile plan doesn't have internet is there an easy, legal way to download apps to my WM 6.1 phone? It seems the only way on Microsoft's site is with the Marketplace and I can't download anything using my phone so I want to use my computer to do it. Are third-party sites legal too?
-WOLF- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2011, 12:48 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,202
OS:

My System


Look online for cabinet files.... (.cab)

Then transfer them over to your phone via SD card.(or USB cable)

Then just select them using the file explorer and it will install them for you.

If you are not already a member join: Android Forums & Windows Phone Discussion @ xda-developers

It's where the best cell-phone minds meet.

Once you join find the forum for your phone and look around.
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 01:30 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Thanks! Just confirming: The stuff they're offering is legal right? I don't really want to 'hack' my phone or anything.
-WOLF- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2011, 07:34 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,202
OS:

My System


Yes... Stock ROMS for phones suck

Nothing about changing the software is illegal...

If your phone supports it see if you can flash up to WM6.5 I like it a lot more then 6.1

If you need help you can post here or at XDA
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 08:03 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Heh I don't know how to install any of them and I can't find a tutorial.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 09-10-2011, 10:28 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,202
OS:

My System


You will need to HSPL your phone first.

From there boot your phone in boot-loader (hold down the power button+ the down arrow for the volume)

You should get a tri-color screen.... connect your phone to the PC using a usb cable.

grab the Flashing tool (should be included with the ROM) and run it.

Let everything run then follow the onscreen prompts...

Something like that... been a long time since I have updated/developed.
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:19 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


+++++
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laxer View Post
You will need to HSPL your phone first.

From there boot your phone in boot-loader (hold down the power button+ the down arrow for the volume)

You should get a tri-color screen.... connect your phone to the PC using a usb cable.

grab the Flashing tool (should be included with the ROM) and run it.

Let everything run then follow the onscreen prompts...

Something like that... been a long time since I have updated/developed.
It doesn't appear there is a HSPL for my phone, there are for HTC and others but I have a Samsung Jack which isn't listed anywhere and the method to get into the boot loader doesn't appear to work for my phone if I try it. The forum is difficult to navigate, I can't even find a WM6.1 post anywhere I think it only goes to 6.5.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:41 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,202
OS:

My System


Lets try doing the offical upgrade then we can go from there....

</title> <META content="Product Support" name=title /> <META content="Product Support" name=kewords /> <META content="Find world class Product Support information here." name=description /> <META content="" name=date SHEME="ISO-8601" /> <META content

BEFORE doing this back up all your contacts to SIM.

Backup any important text/emails to the computer or SD card.

All apps installed will be removed so make a list if you have favorites.

This appears to be the most recent custom ROM: [DISCONTINUED] [ROM] [Samsung Jack SGH-i637] [EN\ES] WM6.5 ~S.A.C.~ - xda-developers

You can check around the forum that thread was posted in for others.

There are a few complaints around XDA about speed on WM6.5... I personally have never been a fan of stock roms and always stick to CFW. but then again my HD2 is a little more main stream for CFW.
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 04:36 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


The update downloader doesn't function for me.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 09:53 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,202
OS:

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by -WOLF- View Post
The update downloader doesn't function for me.
xda-developers - View Single Post - [DISCONTINUED] [ROM] [Samsung Jack SGH-i637] [EN\ES] WM6.5 ~S.A.C.~
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:59 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


There's always problems apparently, this one won't see the 'port' nothing happens. I'm sure I'll figure this out eventually.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 09-12-2011, 11:20 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,202
OS:

My System


are you connecting your phone using active sync?
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline  
Old 09-13-2011, 09:26 AM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Laxer View Post
are you connecting your phone using active sync?
I am yes.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 09-13-2011, 10:33 PM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,202
OS:

My System


Make sure you are running it as admin/escalated...

this: </title> <META content="Product Support" name=title /> <META content="Product Support" name=kewords /> <META content="Find world class Product Support information here." name=description /> <META content="" name=date SHEME="ISO-8601" /> <META content

should not require HSPL...

quotes from the devs:

Quote:
If I Have x64 bit Edition of Windows. Will The Upgrade Tool Work On this OS
Due to the nature of the drivers embedded with the tool, they were not designed for use in that environment.
Is The Upgrade Tool For My SGH-i637 (Jack) Compatible With Windows 7?
No. At This time, it is recommended to execute tool on x32 builds of Windows Vista or XP
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline  
Closed Thread

« - | assitance »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
move apps to sd
Hey, does anybody know how to move app to sd? I have tried a few apps now, but still some of my apps couldn't be moved. These apps are not the built-in apps.
vatanak Android OS 6 08-07-2011 08:47 AM
Google building Postini features into Apps
Google has started to move email security features from its Postini service into Google Apps, so that IT administrators who use both products don't have to toggle back and forth. "Today, we're excited to announce our first step in creating a unified Google Apps experience by moving some Postini...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 0 07-18-2011 01:12 PM
Problems with downloading and streaming
I may be new to these forums but I was hoping I might be able to get some assistance with a problem I am having I have found similar problems mentioned already on the net but can't find a solution. Please help. The reason I posted it in MS windows 7 problems was because as I use Windows 7...
mjtonks Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 7 07-01-2011 04:42 AM
Google pulls infected apps from Android Market
Google pulls infected apps from Android Market Google pulls infected apps from Android Market | Security Threats | ZDNet UK
joeten Computer Security News 0 03-04-2011 07:42 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts