Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Smart Devices > Android OS

User Tag List

Phone showing wrong data usage

This is a discussion on Phone showing wrong data usage within the Android OS forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Moto G phone and here is a picture of the usage from last Saturday, when I sign


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-10-2015, 08:26 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


I have a Moto G phone and here is a picture of the usage from last Saturday, when I sign into my account online here

https://login.vzw.com/cdsso/public/c/logout



This is what is shows me under settings for the usage for that day



Yes, it says it may be different from what my carrier has, but since my phone keeps data usage for both wi-fi and when I'm using my carrier's data (non-wifi) it should be even more. I called Verizon and the reason they say it's out of Sync is that sometimes there is a delay in updating the information to my phone.

But, why is there a delay? If my phone records all data and the apps using the data as it happens it should be perfectly accurate shouldn't it? It doesn't need verizon to tell it what it's used. I need to know what apps have used which data (and I need to know what I've downloaded, and how much data that used) I use apps such as Uber and need to know how much data it's used

I don't like the two bracket method of having to enclose the day (which I can not zoom in on or even see the dates until the brackets are set) I'd like something when I could click on a day on calendar and/or time range to see what data I've used.
PC person is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2015, 05:32 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Is there anybody else on your phone plan?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 02:11 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Is there anybody else on your phone plan?
No, just me. It's just important I see the right data (and for the right apps) because I need to know what's eating up my data.
PC person is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-12-2015, 05:22 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Then follow the readings from Verizon as that is what Verizon will use for billing you.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 06:47 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Then follow the readings from Verizon as that is what Verizon will use for billing you.
But that doesn't tell me the specific data each app has used.
PC person is offline  
Old 11-13-2015, 01:35 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



Quote:
Originally Posted by PC person View Post
But that doesn't tell me the specific data each app has used.
basically you are out of luck if you want accurate realtime information for your apps. Your phone does not have access to all data info.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 11-13-2015, 07:16 AM   #7
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


It's either a Motorola problem or the stock version of Android isn't great at keeping track.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-13-2015, 07:22 AM   #8
Hardware Team
Games Team
 
Aus_Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Western Australia, Perth
Posts: 4,651
OS: Windows 10 64-bit Pro

My System


Theres a disclaimer on some service providers data plans that states that different phones may not record accurate data usage and you should always login into your billing account and check usage there. Most phone company actually provide an app that logins into your account to download the information.
Aus_Karlos is offline  
Old 11-13-2015, 08:43 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by sobeit View Post
basically you are out of luck if you want accurate realtime information for your apps. Your phone does not have access to all data info.
Why couldn't it keep track of all the data as I use it? Why doesn't it have access to all of it? You carrier keeps some hidden from you, perhaps?
PC person is offline  
Old 11-20-2015, 11:44 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,138
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Figured the phone would be the best place to see the data as all data usage occurs on the phone (I have a plan with just my phone) and it could record it as I am using it.
PC person is offline  
Old 11-21-2015, 12:14 AM   #11
Hardware Team
Games Team
 
Aus_Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Western Australia, Perth
Posts: 4,651
OS: Windows 10 64-bit Pro

My System


Your phone might not keep track of failed packets or collisions. When sending data over the airwaves theres always a chance that the data packets could degrade to a point that it has to be resent or a collision could occur at which point the data packet will also need to be resent again. Even if you have high latency it could cause a time-out at the end-point which would result in the end-point requesting the packets again.

Even if a packet fails to reach its destination as far as im aware you charged for it.
Aus_Karlos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Happili Redirect and other possible issues
. DDS (Ver_2011-08-26.01) - NTFSx86 Internet Explorer: 9.0.8112.16421 Run by aim at 20:04:26 on 2012-05-02 Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium 6.0.6002.2.1252.1.1033.18.2037.972 . AV: Microsoft Security Essentials *Enabled/Updated* {9765EA51-0D3C-7DFB-6091-10E4E1F341F6} SP: Windows...
nivedx Resolved HJT Threads 18 05-06-2012 12:43 PM
I know something is wrong..part two...
I previously posted a thread titled "I know something is wrong" but I came back and the thread is closed. Not sure why...but this is what it said. I just have no idea what it could be. I've posted about issues with this computer before but I thought I had things taken care of. Now, it's...
CleverSleazoid Windows XP Support 13 05-01-2011 01:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts