Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Smart Devices > Android OS

User Tag List

KingRoot?

This is a discussion on KingRoot? within the Android OS forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Decided to try and root my ZTE Z835 Maven running Android 7.1.1 Search finds a program called Kingroot. Download the


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-20-2019, 05:52 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Decided to try and root my ZTE Z835 Maven running Android 7.1.1

Search finds a program called Kingroot. Download the mobile version to the phone, installs and starts OK, but says 'Failed, Try PC version.'

Try to download the PC version in Seamonkey .... blank screen, nothing happens.

Go to IE and I can get it downloaded, or so it appears. Upon trying to install, the prompts are all gibberish, not even a foreign language. Then it all goes away. No longer shows in 'Downloads' directory or IE 'View Downloads'.


Confounded Also is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2019, 10:20 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,182
OS: win 10 Home



Check on the XDA forums they usually have something you can work with.
Do so at your own risk!
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 01:38 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



I'm more interested in why the dialog boxes were garbled, where the download exe went and whether or not I need to be concerned about anything. Malwarebytes completed clean.
Confounded Also is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2019, 02:04 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,182
OS: win 10 Home



Well it is unlikely you will know why, ( could be corrupted download or many things) and we have a Security section for checking for malware etc which is where I would go to give myself peace of mind.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 06:59 AM   #5
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,132
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Confounded Also View Post
I'm more interested in why the dialog boxes were garbled, where the download exe went and whether or not I need to be concerned about anything. Malwarebytes completed clean.
Do a search for the exe, assuming you know what the exe was named. Where did you launch it from? You don't have your browser set to automatically open exe downloads, do you? What does the download manager show you? It should have a history of your downloads and the option to open the location where they were saved. Search Everything does a good job at indexing and finding stuff, much faster than File Explorer's search (Google it). Re-download the file if you still can't find it. If the new copy also vanishes, try your luck contacting the author.

Also note that Kingroot is a potentially unwanted program (PUP) and may get quarantined or deleted by security programs IF you have them configured to detect and treat PUPs as infections.

See also https://transparencyreport.google.co...et%2Fwap&hl=en
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 08:07 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



^^ Saved to Downloads, launched from there.

Browsers do not execute automatically.

WAS in C:\Users\User\Downloads, now gone.

Does NOT appear in browser download history.
Confounded Also is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 05:11 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Not sure what to make of this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MB Note.JPG
Views:	6
Size:	31.0 KB
ID:	324464   Click image for larger version

Name:	MB Note 2.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	324466  
Confounded Also is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 07:21 AM   #8
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,595
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Malwarebytes unable to load Anti-Rootkit DDA driver on Windows 7
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 07:48 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



OoooK. Setting changed, but not ready to reboot at the moment.
Confounded Also is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 04:06 AM   #10
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



I's stay away from KingRoot and look at other Solutions for Root, they've been using it to introduce Adware and also while removal, all the residual files are not removed.

I'd use extreme caution on installing it on a PC device...
__________________


tristar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 05:53 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Restarted and MB loaded that driver, then came back clean on a full scan.

Still can't find any trace of the download file or the program itself. Haven't tried to contact the company yet.
Confounded Also is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 07:28 AM   #12
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,132
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Confounded Also View Post
Restarted and MB loaded that driver, then came back clean on a full scan.

Still can't find any trace of the download file or the program itself. Haven't tried to contact the company yet.
Be glad it is nowhere to be found, but if that only adds to your worries, then do as told earlier and seek a clean bill of health from the malware removal forum. After that, stay away from such risky endeavours. There is a rooting tutorial for your model on XDA, just google it.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 11:45 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
To add, which root management app are you using? I use SuperSU, ...
Don't really want to barge into somebody else's thread, but I'm still looking for a way to root my ZTE Maven. I did a quick search for that program, but found a site with a very bad translation to English.

Did I find the right download site? Might it work for my device?
Confounded Also is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 01:31 AM   #14
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Hijacking someone's thread is considered rude, so for the future, please create a new thread specific to your issue.
__________________


tristar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 02:48 AM   #15
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,182
OS: win 10 Home



Quote:
Originally Posted by Confounded Also View Post
Don't really want to barge into somebody else's thread, but I'm still looking for a way to root my ZTE Maven. I did a quick search for that program, but found a site with a very bad translation to English.

Did I find the right download site? Might it work for my device?
Did you check the XDA forums for more info https://forum.xda-developers.com/mav...agisk-t3900178 there may be a more up to date thread there but I found this, the site has a search facility with which you can check for other info.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 06:01 AM   #16
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,132
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Confounded Also View Post
Don't really want to barge into somebody else's thread
Yet you did it anyway! Next time, just request a moderator to reopen your old/closed thread so that you can continue the discussion if there are any new developments. I have moved your hijack post and subsequent replies to this old thread of yours. Make all replies to this issue within this thread. To answer your question, I don't know if SuperSu will root your device. You've been given a link to an XDA tutorial for rooting your device. Please use it. I also mentioned this earlier on this thread, but you gave no feedback regarding it. Follow that tutorial and keep us posted on how it goes.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts