Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Smart Devices > Android OS

User Tag List

Android "Secure startup" issue

This is a discussion on Android "Secure startup" issue within the Android OS forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. 2019-02-05 Hello, I am new to using this forum. I have searched for this topic, but an unable to easily

Closed Thread

Old 02-05-2019, 05:11 PM   #1
Registered Member

2019-02-05
Hello, I am new to using this forum. I have searched for this topic, but an unable to easily find any relevant search results in the forum.

I have an LG K20 Plus phone that I've had for almost a year without a problem. However, the last time I turned off the phone, then turned it back on, there is now a "Secure Startup" screen that is wanting a password. I have not ever set up a "Secure Startup" on this phone. The most I have done is set up a "Screen Lock" with a 4-digit PIN, which I would deactivate when at home and on the secured WiFi at the house, and set up again when away from the house.

I have already talked with the customer service for the provider, and for the LG phone. No help there with this issue. I've also searched online, and cannot find help.

I have already tried 15 of the 20 limit tries to enter the PW, to no avail. The screen indicates that there are 5 more attempts to enter the correct PW before all data will automatically be lost forever (automatic factory reset).

I greatly prefer to avoid having to do a factory reset. There may be some data that is backed up (not sure what exactly, see 3) below), and there is some important data that is most likely not backed-up.

I need to communicate with someone who is knowledgeable about any/all of the following:
1) "Secure Startup" issues;
2) LG phone, preferably an LG K20 Plus;
3) using an Android phone with ANDROID DEVICE MANAGER with a GOOGLE ACCOUNT associated with the phone, and 'backup' related information.

Can anyone help?

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement