Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

User Tag List

Problem with router and switch

This is a discussion on Problem with router and switch within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Sorry that my English is not good and my knownledge at networking is slim. I will try to provide as


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-24-2011, 10:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
OS: win7



Sorry that my English is not good and my knownledge at networking is slim. I will try to provide as much info as I can.

Lately at my place we have setup new ADSL.
The internet provider give us a new modem along way (Comtrend if as I know but not exact series since it's in next building and right now I can't go there).
I tried to connect my old switch (TP-Link TL-WR740N) to that modem (both got wifi). But I got some connection problem. The symptom is like this:
- When the first time I use my laptop and ipad to connect through my switch everythings was OK. But then after 1 day, the speed is rapidly drop. Loading web was hurtful.
- Then I tried turn off and on the switch. The problem solved and the speed go back to normal like 1MB/s. But not for long. Only after 2 or 3 hours it repeat again. And after that, restart switch did no trick anymore since it got pumpy after few minutes.
- So I tried to set my switch to static IP like 19.2.168.1.5 but no thing change.
- But strangely if I can got the link, I can download with Internet Download Manager just fine. The same with torrent also (ofcourse when I test another option I've turned off my client). And my Yahoo Messenger running just fine and I can chat to my friend with no delay.
+ To sum it, those computers connect directly to the modem (router?) through wifi got speed just fine, like 1MB/s but ours through switch got losted packets all the time and even when I can download, it's just around 200-300 kB/s.


Here is my ipconfig from my laptop:
Code:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
C:\Users\vuluc88>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : lucvh00573
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Loopback Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-4C-4F-4F-50
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::48e3:85:b48d:9583%14(Preferred)
   Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.149.131(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 235012172
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-AD-23-97-00-22-19-FD-B5-AD
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
                                       fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
                                       fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-5F-EB-38-68
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-19-FD-B5-AD
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6d72:3e27:f51a:751b%11(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.100(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 25, 2011 11:08:44 AM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 25, 2011 1:08:43 PM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889753
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-AD-23-97-00-22-19-FD-B5-AD
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter isatap.{6AA30B03-5499-41D5-B0E6-546CA04185C7}:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter isatap.{5D134404-115F-4336-8EC4-C1EB6CD4D3E6}:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter isatap.{C36401B7-5BE7-47C7-9912-4666BA0C8916}:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
C:\Users\vuluc88>
And here when i tried to ping the modem from my destop through switch one (TL-WR720N):
Code:
 Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 64 bytes of data:
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=1
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=2
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=3
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=4
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=5
 Request timed out.
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=7
 Request timed out.
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=9
 Request timed out.
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=11
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=12
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=13
 Request timed out.
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=15
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=16
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=17
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=18
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=19
 Reply from 192.168.1.1:  bytes=64  time=1  TTL=64  seq=20
 Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1
  Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 16, Lost = 4 (20% loss),
 Approximate round trip times in milliseconds:
  Minimum = 1, Maximum = 1, Average = 1
Some setting from my switch:
Modem and Switch.rar

Thx for hearing my problem.
vuluc88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2011, 07:33 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 134
OS: Windows 7



You may have a bad switch but to be sure I would connect direct to the DSL Modem and run your ping test again. It could be the wire or the port your switch is using to connect to the modem.
JimFlagg is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 07:40 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 27
OS: Windows SBS 2008



Am I misunderstanding something in your network setup that your computer is on a different subnet? 192.168.2.1 of PC vs. 192.168.1.x of switch (not router)?
Playerpawn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2011, 07:45 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 134
OS: Windows 7



Edit:

Never mind:

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

is a loopback adapter.

Are you running a virtual machine?
JimFlagg is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 08:06 AM   #5
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



vuluc88 you need to be clear on what is what.

Switches don't provide dhcp services
You modem must also be a router since you do have dhcp services.

The correct gateway to ping is 192.168.2.1 not 192.168.1.1
as per this
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1


So do your ping test correctly using the above ip.

Only question left is what was responding at 192.168.1.1?
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 10:50 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
OS: win7



192.168.2.1 is the switch my computer connect to, so pinging it got no problem.
192.168.1.1 is the modem(router) that the switch wire-connect to and pinging it got lost packets (meaning data got lost in the way from switch to modem).
Well just correct me, maybe i've mistaken the idea of switch and router about the one in my building. If the one provide DHCP services is router then i'm pretty sure them both are router!

ANW... thx JimFFlagg. After post that post I also think about that possibility and go home to check. taking my switch(router?) to the another building and use much shorter cable to connect switch and modem(the one i'm using is like 10 meter and this one is just for my laptop use in checking like 0.5m).
Then I try pinging it again and no problem appear.
So I guess it really is cable problem or the modem's port problem. Today I must go buy new cable to test that out. Hope that is cable problem or else I need to buy new modem and go ask the account to setting it up!

And thanks you all for concerning!
vuluc88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wireless router with DHCP problem
Dear all, Recently i had suffering with wireless connection problem, currently my wireless router connected to WAN directly, after that go into firewall and then go thru switch to end user PC, for LAN user there is no issue, but for wireless connected PC it is prompted with limited connectivity...
Vny Networking Support 2 09-26-2011 11:33 PM
How do I configure a switch to work with a router?
Right now I have it connected like this: Internet -> SURFboard SB6120 Modem -> DGL-4100 Router (modem in the WAN port, 3 internet connections plus the switch in the LAN ports) -> DGS-1008G Switch (2 other internet connections connected to this, as well as an Xbox 360). The problem is that...
wanderer1 Networking Support 10 09-18-2011 11:18 AM
Wireless is jamming the switch
Hi all, Current network configuration is as follows: Internet -> Router -> 24port Switch (main switch) I have seven network segments, connected to the main switch via 8port switches. Just to clarify, all the segments are in the same subnet. One of the segment, has a wireless N router...
chweetraju Networking Support 3 08-09-2011 09:11 PM
Modem DHCP fights Router - But NOT standard problem
Hi, First of all, I've been setting up wireless networks in loads of households before, but this one is just super odd. Please read the entire Post carefully, as it's very easy to not understand what I'm trying to tell you here ^^ Here are the details that the "ipod touch" (NO Internet) gets...
cymode Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 2 04-20-2011 09:11 AM
Switch works but not when connected to router
Hello, I have a switch connecting PCs in the upstairs and a router downstairs which connects to the internet 2 PCs and the Switch. The 2 PCs downstairs work perfectly. When I have the switch connected to my router(modem) it drops internet connection intermitantly, and also doesn't let me connect...
mcgrorys Networking Support 2 04-18-2011 09:46 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts