Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

User Tag List

Network Adapters not working

This is a discussion on Network Adapters not working within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Originally Posted by JBake810 Sounds like the NIC could be bad. Have you tried just using wireless? Pardon me, I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2017, 07:51 AM   #21
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by JBake810 View Post
Sounds like the NIC could be bad. Have you tried just using wireless?
Pardon me, I could not follow you.

What do you want to know "just using wireless"? The Wi-Fi is detecting the modem but internet connection is not thru.
abuhafss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2017, 08:26 AM   #22
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
OS: Ubuntu, win7, win8



Quote:
Originally Posted by abuhafss View Post
Pardon me, I could not follow you.

What do you want to know "just using wireless"? The Wi-Fi is detecting the modem but internet connection is not thru.
Disable the Local Area Connection.
Go to; open network and sharing center > change adapter settings > right click on local area connection > disable. That should just allow the wireless card to run.
JBake810 is offline  
Old 06-23-2017, 09:37 AM   #23
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by JBake810 View Post
Disable the Local Area Connection.
Go to; open network and sharing center > change adapter settings > right click on local area connection > disable. That should just allow the wireless card to run.
I don't use LAN connection.
However, cable network adapter is used to connect to a printer.

Anyway, disabling all the LAN connections won't make any difference. I still cud not connect to the internet.
abuhafss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2017, 08:30 PM   #24
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



When you got rid of COMODO and BitDefender, did you use the removal tools (if available)?

https://support.eset.com/kb146/?locale=en_US

Run removal tools for any others that you have installed/uninstalled to assure that the kernel mode drivers have in fact been removed.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 12:44 AM   #25
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 10


There was no uninstalling utility with Comodo however, Bitdefender was removed using its utility.
abuhafss is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 05:35 AM   #26
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,786
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


What happens if you boot into Safe Mode with Networking?
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 09:39 AM   #27
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
What happens if you boot into Safe Mode with Networking?
Nothing.........no change.
abuhafss is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 12:31 PM   #28
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,786
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


That generally rules out an OS, software, or driver issue.

I assume the ethernet NIC is on the motherboard? If so, boot into the BIOS and disable the NIC. Save the settings, boot into Windows, and see if the wifi will connect. You can also check Device Manager again and you should no longer see the ethernet NIC listed.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 01:13 PM   #29
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
That generally rules out an OS, software, or driver issue.

I assume the ethernet NIC is on the motherboard? If so, boot into the BIOS and disable the NIC. Save the settings, boot into Windows, and see if the wifi will connect. You can also check Device Manager again and you should no longer see the ethernet NIC listed.
As mentioned already, the problem is not with the Wi-Fi. It connects to the modem but the internet is not available (though other devices working fine).

Anyway, I followed your instructions. The NIC is diabled, Wi-Fi is connected but no internet.............................Simply, status un-changed.
abuhafss is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 02:25 PM   #30
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,786
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Well, there is a problem or we wouldn't be doing all of this troubleshooting. And assuming the wifi is connecting, it is connecting to the router, not the modem.

The modem connects to the ISP and provides a path. All of your devices connect to a router, which forwards the connections through the modem. In your case, I will assume that you are using a modem/router combo unit and not two separate pieces.

In any case, having the ethernet NIC disabled ensures the only available path is across the wifi.

If you hover of the network icon in the tray, what is the connection status?

In the Network and Sharing Center, you can try using the "Connect to a network" or you could also try to "Set up a new connection or network".
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 02:56 PM   #31
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
If you hover of the network icon in the tray, what is the connection status?

In the Network and Sharing Center, you can try using the "Connect to a network" or you could also try to "Set up a new connection or network".
Thanks for the explanation about Router+Modem Combo.

Let's first focus on Wi-Fi bcz I use the wired adapter only to connect my printer.
In the tray, it shows "Not connected - Connections are available".
When I click on it, I can see my Router connected with status "No internet, secured".
abuhafss is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 03:54 PM   #32
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Lets take a peek at your network environment:

With the Ethernet Cable disconnected, First:

Power Cycle everything . . Turn off the Modem, router and all pc's . . turn on the Modem and wait a few minutes for the lights to stabilize . . then turn on the router, then one pc at a time. See if you connect to the internet.

Then:

Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network again.

How to Remove Stored Wireless Network Profiles for XP, Vista, and Windows 7 ( This is for Windows 7 but the steps are virtually the same for 8 and 10

Then: check your browser's settings, remove any proxy settings if found, here's how


Then:

with the pc connected to the router, Click on Start . . Run . . type CMD

At the > prompt type or copy and paste the following command:

ipconfig/all > 0 & notepad 0

and press enter.

Come back here and Paste the results in a message.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB drive, or a CD-R disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

then please Download and run this Xirrus WiFi Inspector, click the Networks link on the upper left and paste a screen shot of that screen here. Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here. For Vista and Windows 7, 8 you can use the Windows Snipping Tool
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 05:28 PM   #33
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 10



Thanks for your time, Rich.

I followed all your instructions.

As asked, here are the screenshots.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CMD.png
Views:	72
Size:	7.0 KB
ID:	308537   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xirrus.png
Views:	103
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	308545  
abuhafss is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 06:03 PM   #34
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You appear to have a strong signal from your wireless access point, but the ipcongfig report is incomplete . .

Please post the full output
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 06:19 PM   #35
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 10


Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Rich View Post
You appear to have a strong signal from your wireless access point, but the ipcongfig report is incomplete . .

Please post the full output
That's all what I got for the ipconfig, though I also assumed it to be incomplete.
abuhafss is offline  
Old 06-24-2017, 06:19 PM   #36
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 921
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/10741/windows-10-fix-network-connection-issues

Try these. one by one
steve32mids is offline  
Old 06-25-2017, 11:47 AM   #37
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Run Old Rich's ipconfig command again.

Bring up a CMD prompt; paste -
Code:
ipconfig/all > 0 & notepad 0 
A Notepad will open. Paste the results into your next post.


`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 06-25-2017, 11:54 AM   #38
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Perhaps your user profile is corrupted.

Activate the hidden Admin user account and try it.

https://www.sysnative.com/forums/win...s-8-1-8-a.html



`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 06-25-2017, 12:33 PM   #39
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by steve32mids View Post
Nope............nothing
abuhafss is offline  
Old 06-25-2017, 12:44 PM   #40
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgriff2 View Post
Run Old Rich's ipconfig command again.

Bring up a CMD prompt; paste -
Code:
ipconfig/all > 0 & notepad 0 
A Notepad will open. Paste the results into your next post.


`
Trust me, I am getting the same result; be it CMD or CMD (Admin)
abuhafss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VPN issues CISCO
Hello all. I recently switched providers and I am having trouble accessing the internet network from VPN. Any suggestions?
mrw5641 Networking Support 146 11-20-2015 11:06 AM
Laptop won't connect to wireless network although signal is great
Earlier in the morning my router was unpluged twice by my baby brother when he was fooling around, and then when I plugged it in the third time my laptop won't connect the the wireless network. I could see the network with great signal on the connection list, but when I tried connect to it, it...
Clementine Networking Support 2 08-03-2013 04:37 PM
farbar
I have tried nearly everything and can't find the program to get rid of this Ice virus I downloaded farbar and tried it with these results Please help Scan result of Farbar Recovery Scan Tool (FRST.txt) (x64) Version: 25-06-2013 02 Ran by SYSTEM on 26-06-2013 09:31:13 Running from F:\...
kick-4 Resolved HJT Threads 29 07-08-2013 10:10 PM
3 problems: can't start DPS service, uninstall network adapters, win auto update fail
Multiple Issues Discovered while Troubleshooting laptop I have multiple issues with a laptop and suspect that they may all be somehow related, or were either caused by a rootkit, or simply by corrupted windows files. I thought I should present all issues together as they may give clues to...
Carpot Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 2 01-20-2013 05:34 PM
[SOLVED] Rootkit problem: hidden boot sector.
Dearest Techies: I have Windows 7 Home Premium on a Dell Inspiron N7010 Notebook. A few days ago the computer would not start and took me to the windows 7 startup repair utility, and it was unsuccessful in repairing the problem. I ended up having to restore the system to factory settings to get...
Raygumm Resolved HJT Threads 60 07-03-2011 10:07 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts