Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

User Tag List

Need Fiber Optic Networking Advice

This is a discussion on Need Fiber Optic Networking Advice within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I am a Security Officer at a residential community. I have a lot of networking experience, but I have

Closed Thread

Old 10-14-2012, 07:53 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi,

I am a Security Officer at a residential community. I have a lot of networking experience, but I have no fiber-optic networking experience.

Our community needs to set up a network between two gates which spans the distance of about 4,000 feet. What we will use the network for primarily is to one connect it to a dsl line so our security shack can monitor the DVR and NVR. Also we will use it for future upgrades like video call boxes, and gate updates via the network.

My questions are:

What type of Fiber would I need to purchase? My goal/our goal is to be able to use about 16 cameras transferring data on the network to the NVR/DVR. So basically around 16 connections. The wire will be run underground in a trench.

Second, how many optical wires in the wire will be needed? Multi-mode?

Third, which types of devices will I need to connect it all together?

Lastly, Are there any other alternatives? I've heard of LAN extenders but simply do not believe they would be able to transfer the data we need, nor will it be good for future upgrades.

RM-
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-14-2012, 08:35 AM   #2
TSF Emeritus

The company you contract with to lay the fiber will take care of the termination so you won't need any equipment. Do request a certification test. This is where the contractor produces a report concerning the cable run.

You would install a bundle of multimode [12 strands min] if going to do this. Lay a couple of conduits with multiple pull strings since you have to trench anyway.