Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

User Tag List

I can't visit any website, even though my Internet connection is working fine.

This is a discussion on I can't visit any website, even though my Internet connection is working fine. within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am running a pretty new PC with Windows 7. This weekend I updated Itunes to the latest version, and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2012, 06:34 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



I am running a pretty new PC with Windows 7. This weekend I updated Itunes to the latest version, and did a restart. After the restart, I was unable to connect to any website, using IE or Chrome. I was also unable to update anything (like my malware software definitions). However, my Internet connection is just fine. Under network connections everything looks good, and I am able to connect to an online chess server and play chess games, so I know there's no issue with my connection.

Now, I run my malware program and it finds and fixes 7 issues. I assume this must be what's causing the problem. After another restart, a second malware scan comes up clean, same with my virus software. However, still unable to connect to anything online other than the chess server.

Finally, I pull an older computer out of the basement, disconnect the cat 5 going to the new computer, and connect it up to my older computer. I was surprised to get the very same issue -- I was unable to connect to any website, but the Internet connection is fine. So, I have to assume that the malware was never the issue, unless it possibly reset some settings with my router or modem? The old and the new computer were never connected in any way, so it's not possible that the malware infected the old computer.

Any suggestions? I have been struggling with this for a couple of days now and really could use some help. Thanks!
BigEasy1203 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2012, 10:20 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: India
Posts: 37
OS: win xp



Hi
My Name is Kaushal and I work for social media and community Team at Dell.
It seems like it's a connectivity issue with the computer.
1: Try to turn off the modem for 30 sec and disconnect the Ethernet cable from computer and restart, once the commuter starts you have the desktop window up and turn on the internet modem and once all the lite on the modem gets stable, after that please check the internet.

2: The best option would be to restart your computer and TAP F8 and it will take to black windows where in , You can select "safe mode with networking".
Once the computer starts then check the internet connection and if it works fine it means it could be something in the computer which is blocking the internet. Like an Anti Virus like MacAfee, Norton, Avast

3:If these 2 doesn’t solve the problem as you mentioned you tried the second computer, it Also doesn’t work in that case please get in touch with your internet service provider.
You will surely have the solution
Thanks
Dell Kaushal P
Dell Social Media Responder
Kaushal_dell is offline  
Old 07-30-2012, 12:50 PM   #3
2xg
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,454
OS: Windows O/S'es



Moved to Networking Support.

============================
Please start here.
2xg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Probable rootkit virus
Hi there,I have followed the instructions for initial posting and my biggest issue is 'website cannot be displayed' messages when going to various websites (i.e., Outlook mail webpages always work, Google search result pages rarely do, youtube links never works). I have attached the DDS.txt and...
Rivenspur Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 55 06-19-2012 02:26 PM
Permission Changes in Wins 7
Not sure what happened, but it appears I can't make changes like delete files or run programs I am logged in as an administrator, and have been through the Security section of right clicking a file or folder to allow me to make changes to no avail Tried something called Subinacl to change...
leachim Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 18 10-18-2011 07:34 PM
Looking to get better quality on my scans
I have HP C4180 All-in-one (print, scan, copy) Right now I'm trying to scan a yearbook that I never got myself, back when I was in middle school. I want to scan the whole thing and return it to the owner, who has not had it in months. Only thing is, I don't want the quality to be bad as I probably...
PC person Printer Support 4 06-15-2011 06:02 PM
Virus de-activated firewall and internet connection
Hi, my name is Steve and I have a problem that seems pretty common with other posts. I have tried a few basic options posted elsewhere but here I am. I turn on my computer and after the welcome screen my desktop background loads but it takes about 10 minutes for the icons and everything else to...
Sharewealth Resolved HJT Threads 20 03-14-2011 07:19 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts