Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Worth it to get Associates in IT after irrelevant Bachelors?

This is a discussion on Worth it to get Associates in IT after irrelevant Bachelors? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone. I am 25 years old and am considering going into IT as a career. I am wondering if

Closed Thread

Old 02-18-2016, 06:59 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello everyone. I am 25 years old and am considering going into IT as a career. I am wondering if an Associates in IT is worth doing. I received a BA in Anthropology. I was one of those people who went to college simply for the sake of going (and told to do so by parents) so I didnt really know what I was doing. (Im a first gen college graduate, so my parents couldn't really "guide" me.) Im now realizing I should have been smarter about my college opportunities.

Currently I am in South Korea teaching English, but am now looking at what I need to do when I get back home. I really want to get into IT/networking, but not sure how I should develop the actual skills. I am considering going back to school and get an A.S. in Information Technology.

Would this be a smart move? Is an AS in IT worth the effort and money? Are there better ways to get into the field, such as self-teaching etc? Please give me any advice, I am willing to take any. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-18-2016, 09:04 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

Hard to say if it will be worth it or not. Too many factors to consider.

It may help you get a job and the skills needed to do the job. If you already have those skills and can demonstrate them it may not be needed.

Many employers will look for a degree especially when there's no previous work experience. If you have the knowledge you can get a certification (A+, Network+, Microsoft, Apple, etc. ) to at least get you into an entry level position.