Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Women entering the IT industry..............

This is a discussion on Women entering the IT industry.............. within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, Probably a bit late in the day for me to be considering a career in IT, however, I would

Closed Thread

Old 08-12-2013, 09:25 AM   #1
Registered Member

Grin

Hi,

Probably a bit late in the day for me to be considering a career in IT, however, I would appreciate any honest feedback.

I graduated with a Business degree a few weeks ago from a red brick Uni - I'm 32. Prior to my academic studies, I worked for a central government department for 10 years, chiefly working with SAP ERP software (Procurement and Finance).
During these 10 years service, I completed a couple of computing courses at college (Networking and Web Design) - not CompTIA - but I suppose that's neither here or there as they are probably worthless now. Also undertook a couple of short-scale IT projects within my job, including floor walking for an IT Networking post-migration server project which lasted a couple of weeks down south. It was just luck really that I got offered the opportunity because my main job was procurement/finance centric.

I've always been an enthusiast of networking over the years, but don't know why I didn't take it seriously enough to actually do a degree at uni or pursue entry-level IT jobs. Probably complacency in my previous civil service job....

Anyway, so just finished my degree in Business but because the subject is so broad, I would like to develop expertise - and this is where networking comes into it. I'm going to self study the CompTIA A+ and Networking + within 1 year, then progress to the CCNA (at somepoint thereafter, want to be a Project Manager, but have to get industry experience first, so will pursue PM cert's after industry experience).