Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

What next after Helpdesk second line

This is a discussion on What next after Helpdesk second line within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi guys, I'm sure there are many out there in a similar situation as me. I am part of a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-30-2013, 02:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
OS: win 7 sp1



hi guys,

I'm sure there are many out there in a similar situation as me.

I am part of a small ITteam.
2 helpdesk, 2 project work and 2 managers.

Although I am not officially second line support, I will class myself as such, the company has been trying to outsource IT Support for the past 4 years.

we have a small team in Dubai who take the calls, they are able to do password resets and very simple jobs (it will take them and hour to do a 5minute job, but now I'm just ranting. sometimes they will be on the customers machine all day)

I don't see them as a threat, and I believe I have pretty good job security.

officially my title is IT Assistant and I have no qualifications, however I do have over 5 years experience supporting 15+ sites with a lot of users.

until last year, I was on 15k. until finally throwing in the towel and pretty much threatening to change roles. now I am on 17k.

I don't think I am being paid enough.
Getting a little sick of this particular company, I need a new job

do you think I would struggle with my lack of qualifications?

what job should I aim for.

im not crazy about another helpdesk job.

thankyou for taking the time to read this thread.
ash016 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2013, 02:46 PM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



i think the issue will be there are a lot of people on the market place and so as part of the short listing process will be qualifications.

I come across this all the time, having carried out project management for 8 years contracting over the last few years, if you do not have a PM qualification you wont get past the shortlist, and now with 38 years experience, a lot of companies will not shortlist me because , i do not have a degree....

it wont be impossible - but expect to have a lot of rejections
and make sure your CV clearly shows your experience and responsibilities
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 11-30-2013, 02:50 PM   #3
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


you should get some certifications that reflect what you do then apply for another position somewhere else. With your experience and some certs behind you, you should find a decent position that pays better either in 2nd line or 3rd line or even in a techinician post.

You should look at certs such as A+, network+, 70-680 and any others that reflect your experience level.

remember in the IT world experience counts far more than qualifications but experience + qualifications (aslong as they reflect your experience level ) is only a win win.
__________________
Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2013, 02:52 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
OS: win 7 sp1



Quote:
Originally Posted by etaf View Post
i think the issue will be there are a lot of people on the market place and so as part of the short listing process will be qualifications.

I come across this all the time, having carried out project management for 8 years contracting over the last few years, if you do not have a PM qualification you wont get past the shortlist, and now with 38 years experience, a lot of companies will not shortlist me because , i do not have a degree....

it wont be impossible - but expect to have a lot of rejections
and make sure your CV clearly shows your experience and responsibilities
I feared as much I was hopeful that the 5 years in the same job with the same company would bode well on my part. but it makes sense that I would not even get on the short list.

thankyou for your response.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenbrucelee View Post
you should get some certifications that reflect what you do then apply for another position somewhere else. With your experience and some certs behind you, you should find a decent position that pays better either in 2nd line or 3rd line or even in a techinician post.

You should look at certs such as A+, network+, 70-680 and any others that reflect your experience level.

remember in the IT world experience counts far more than qualifications but experience + qualifications (aslong as they reflect your experience level ) is only a win win.
thankyou for your response.

it seems that your opinion differs slightly to etaf.

I suppose it may be down to what part of the country you live in.

I will certainly consider getting some sort of qualification.

rgds
ash016 is offline  
Old 11-30-2013, 04:23 PM   #5
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


I don't disagree with etaf because the job market sucks at the minute, but as I have said many times on here you could have all the qualifications or certifications in the world but without experience your going to be beaten by someone who has the experience.

You have experience use it to your advantage. Add some certs to that experience and you should not have much trouble in finding a better paid job with better prospects.
__________________
Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 12-01-2013, 12:22 AM   #6
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



we are not really disagreeing , experience will always stand out, the issue is getting past the short listing process , if its done via an agency or via an HR department , they are just looking for a tick in the box.
But someone with no experience, who has the qualifications will also have difficulty getting short listed for roles

so we are not really disagreeing

And get as many qualifications as you can along the way

I have also worked within a global financial organisations HR recruitment team (400 people recruiting for all roles globally). And in 2010 moved to a direct model of recruitment, rather than via agencies and one of the main systems they piloted licenses for was linkedin , which worked really well and made substantial savings in year on agency fees.
So make sure you have a good linkedin profile and with key words as thats how they search.
hope that helps
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 12-01-2013, 06:29 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
OS: win 7 sp1



again, thankyou both for your help.

let me know if there is a thankyou or rep system in place, you both deserve some.

for the time being I will stay where I am.

I have a month old baby boy so I cannot take the risk at the moment.

I will see about the company getting me and my colleague, on some sort of course.
they should go for it. I wouldn't mind doing some sort of course on computer security.

again, thankyou both.
ash016 is offline  
Old 12-01-2013, 06:49 AM   #8
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



your welcome, I'm not an expert on certification, so you may want to mark this solved an post a new question asking about the types of qualifications you should be considering

also have a look at job adverts on
monster, cwjobs, jobsite and jobserve
and see what the qualifications are being asked for currently
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Malware Removed
My apology to ryder. Starting over. Thanks for your time. It pops up a window in the FF browser to redirect to redirsvc.com. I do not allow it to redirect but I did once. It also highlights and double underlines words on web pages. FF keeps crashing...althought I updated recently. I keep new...
BrentC Inactive Malware Help Topics 53 12-24-2013 07:09 AM
SpyHunter Loop-de-Loop
Good Afternoon, In an attempt to check for viruses/malware, I made the mistake of installing SpyHunter. Well, it went into a loop that was very difficult to get out of. I uninstalled it using the windows program uninstall but it kept looping. I searched around and found out that registry...
catbiz Inactive Malware Help Topics 73 10-24-2013 03:09 PM
Slow pc and web browser pop ups
My pc has been running slow and I am getting pop ups while using my web browser (firefox). The pop up says that there are fatal registry errors on my pc. I have attached the scans. DDS (Ver_2012-11-20.01) - NTFS_x86 Internet Explorer: 8.0.6001.18702 BrowserJavaVersion: 10.25.2 Run by Kris...
Kristo Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 11 10-10-2013 12:44 AM
google hijack and other problems
Kk, haven't been able to use google at all for some time. And I have been getting some hot linked random words in web pages that pops up an add when you pass the cursor over them. GMER didn't work for me at all. Went to blue screen with message that they shut windows down. And when I try to zip the...
Cpilot Resolved HJT Threads 35 09-29-2013 12:45 PM
Trouble with Directx 10
When trying to install a redist for a game i was going to play, this error comes up: "An internal system error occured. Please refer to DXERROR.log and Directx.log in your Windows folder to determine the problem" This is my DXError.log: -------------------- module: dxupdate(Sep 4 2009),...
xAtlas PC Gaming Support 1 07-29-2011 01:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts