Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Re-entering Tech Workforce, Needing Solid Advice

This is a discussion on Re-entering Tech Workforce, Needing Solid Advice within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an Associate's Degree from ITT Tech, in their Computer Networking Systems course, from back in 2004. I messed

Closed Thread

Old 08-15-2014, 05:11 PM   #1
Registered Member

I have an Associate's Degree from ITT Tech, in their Computer Networking Systems course, from back in 2004. I messed around a bit and didn't utilize it whatsoever until 2006. At that time, I took a simple job, through a staffing company, taking meeting minutes. This job was at a small company that secured a State contract to replace their legacy system by designing, implementing and deploying a new software system. Within three months, I was approached by Deputy Project Manager with an offer of my choice of five job openings. Only one of these jobs was directly in the field I had any "experience" (read, tech school) in whatsoever. My choice, however, was the job of Configuration Management Analyst. I was trained on-the-job and did very well. I worked directly with the PMO, gathering requirements, facilitating meetings, designing and implementing processes, producing documentation, producing training materials and holding training workshops for in-house, as well as, State staff, etc. I made it through three managers and all but the last phase of lay-offs, due to the company being bought-out by a worldwide corporation.