Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Passed 801 exam what to do next?

This is a discussion on Passed 801 exam what to do next? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been studying computers since 2009 and today i finally passed the CompTia's A+ 801 test. Am I correct

Closed Thread

Old 06-08-2016, 04:15 PM   #1
Registered Member

I have been studying computers since 2009 and today i finally passed the CompTia's A+ 801 test. Am I correct in assuming I need to take and pass the A+ 802 test to actually be certified? Does the 801 test get me anything?

I am really good at the software end of things which is what i believe the 802 test is about but I would like any information you guys could give me about studying/passing that exam. Is it 100% necessary? Sorry to reiterate but just having the 801 doesn't really count for much? Also I heard they are updating the certifications to 901 from 801 so would I need to get both 901 and 902 to get certified or would 802 be enough for now?

Either way would anyone recommend I get other simple certifications like being Microsoft certified, etc. I am very poor but i really want to get a good job and start off slow get proper training, what's a good direction to go, level 1 entry level support technician?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-08-2016, 05:35 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

Yes, you need to pass both the 801 and 802 for the A+ certification.

Here's info on the 800 and 900 series:
https://certification.comptia.org/ce.../a#examdetails

You have until June 30 to pass the 802.

For studying: Professor Messer's CompTIA 220-801/802 A+ Training | Professor Messer IT Certification Training Courses

For Microsoft, just start with the entry level desktop certifications.