Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Passed 801 exam what to do next?

This is a discussion on Passed 801 exam what to do next? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been studying computers since 2009 and today i finally passed the CompTia's A+ 801 test. Am I correct


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2016, 04:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
jm514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 108
OS: XP, 7, 8.1, 10, OSX 10.6



I have been studying computers since 2009 and today i finally passed the CompTia's A+ 801 test. Am I correct in assuming I need to take and pass the A+ 802 test to actually be certified? Does the 801 test get me anything?

I am really good at the software end of things which is what i believe the 802 test is about but I would like any information you guys could give me about studying/passing that exam. Is it 100% necessary? Sorry to reiterate but just having the 801 doesn't really count for much? Also I heard they are updating the certifications to 901 from 801 so would I need to get both 901 and 902 to get certified or would 802 be enough for now?

Either way would anyone recommend I get other simple certifications like being Microsoft certified, etc. I am very poor but i really want to get a good job and start off slow get proper training, what's a good direction to go, level 1 entry level support technician?
jm514 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-08-2016, 05:35 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Yes, you need to pass both the 801 and 802 for the A+ certification.

Here's info on the 800 and 900 series:
https://certification.comptia.org/ce.../a#examdetails

You have until June 30 to pass the 802.

For studying: Professor Messer's CompTIA 220-801/802 A+ Training | Professor Messer IT Certification Training Courses

For Microsoft, just start with the entry level desktop certifications.

While the certifications are nice to have and can show that you have the knowledge to pass, having practical or work experience will mean more (in most cases) to an employer.
__________________
[url=https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/announcement.php?f=299&a=105]

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is offline  
Old 06-09-2016, 12:02 PM   #3
Moderator - Networking
 
MitchConner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,290
OS: IOS, NX-OS, JunOS, TMOS



Congratulations on passing the exam!

Although this is my own personal opinion I know it is shared by other employers (those that are worth working for anyway).

If you're looking for an entry level position, I prize a good attitude and willingness to learn over any other attribute. Show that in any job interview, and you'll be golden.

Certificates are certainly nice to have, but they aren't the be all and end all.

Best of luck mate.
__________________

Port Forwarding Problems? Start Here
MitchConner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2016, 01:21 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
jm514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 108
OS: XP, 7, 8.1, 10, OSX 10.6



Thank you both for your reply's.
jm514 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New build/issue on first boots?
I recently updated my system and been having a load a troubles since and came here hoping to get some insight and home help! First off, here is the specs on my new system. Intel i5 4690K, ASUS Z97-AR Mobo, MSI Lightning GTX 680, Corsair Vengeance 2X8GB 1600 DDR3, Kingston 120GB SSD, WD Caviar...
bbell1102 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 11 02-23-2015 11:59 PM
Windows cannot complete the rename operation on default first site name
Guys, I've setup a domain with 2 DC's, currently using Windows Server 2008 R2. When i righ click Default-First-Site-Name in Active Dirctory sites and Services and select Rename i receive an error saying 'Windows cannot complete the rename operation on default first site name because access is...
Brink123 Windows Servers 3 03-14-2013 10:43 PM
Server 2003/Active Directory Missing Sites Container in AD
All right, guys. I have a weird one for you. I have two domain controllers at a client of mine and I am upgrading them to exchange 2010. I attempt to install Exchange 2010 and am met with the following error when checking prerequisites. Setup encountered a problem while validating the state...
disisit Windows Servers 4 08-09-2011 04:52 PM
I know something is wrong..part two...
I previously posted a thread titled "I know something is wrong" but I came back and the thread is closed. Not sure why...but this is what it said. I just have no idea what it could be. I've posted about issues with this computer before but I thought I had things taken care of. Now, it's...
CleverSleazoid Windows XP Support 13 05-01-2011 01:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts