Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

new to IT field with unrelated B.A. Degree

This is a discussion on new to IT field with unrelated B.A. Degree within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Guys, I graduated with my B.A. degree in History (Don't ask me why lol) in 2011. My first job

Closed Thread

Old 06-11-2013, 01:05 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hi Guys,

I graduated with my B.A. degree in History (Don't ask me why lol) in 2011. My first job out of school was in finance as a financial adviser, which i absolutely hated. Then I did a small internship in marketing and now I'm working as an escrow coordinator in the real estate industry. I've been looking for a new career as I feel that my current B.A. really limits me in what I can do. So i've been looking into some entry level certs like A+, MTA, and Network +. Is this the right way to go? Would anyone recommend me taking those expensive computer courses to help prepare for those exams? I don't have any IT experience, but i would say i'm pretty familiar with windows OS and i've been using PC's my entire life, but no professional experience.

What kind of pay would I expect in landing a entry level job after I obtain a few certifications? I really would hope to make more than i am making now, (35k-40k) or at least the same, as I know I have to pay my dues in order to move up and eventually make some better money. Btw i live in Southern California. I would also like to add that I do NOT want to sit around at a desk/cubicle all day because that is exactly what I'm doing now and don't want to do anymore.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-11-2013, 03:27 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast