Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

New Starter

This is a discussion on New Starter within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello Everyone I have been a building manager for the past 2 years, before that I worked in a control

Closed Thread

Old 12-18-2013, 02:12 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello Everyone

I have been a building manager for the past 2 years, before that I worked in a control room as a controller and worked my way up to a manager level. Dealt with over 100 plus calls a day answering queries from our 3000 plus security staff as well as dealing with high calibre clients and emergency calls, I did this for almost 4 years so I have sound customer service. I have always wanted to get into IT but I just do not trust training providers and experienced people tell me to train off my own back which I welcome however, once I get my qualification in MCSE or Software testing where do I go from there? Nobody will take on a person that has no real practical experience and I cant afford to even take 12 weeks off o gain experience. Can you offer me any advice?

Haroon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-18-2013, 04:38 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

Do you have any background in computers or IT in general or as a hobby? It can be difficult to get started but everyone starts somewhere.

I would suggest deciding on a path you would be most interested in (i.e. program, software QA, networking, etc.)

Once you have an idea of what you'd want to do you can focus on getting the knowledge required to start in that field.

Getting the basic certifications is something you can do on your own. This would include the entry level Microsoft certification (MTA) , A+ or Network+

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
Old 12-18-2013, 04:45 AM   #3
Registered Member