Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Network Engineer Interview Questions for senior people

This is a discussion on Network Engineer Interview Questions for senior people within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am a Network Engineer working now. I am having 8 months experience now. I want to know the general

Closed Thread

Old 02-08-2015, 10:09 PM   #1
Registered Member

I am a Network Engineer working now. I am having 8 months experience now. I want to know the general interview questions for experienced people apart from asking what were the tasks and responsibilities in the current company???Pls help me????????
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-09-2015, 08:23 AM   #2
Moderator, IT Pro Team
Certification and Career Expert

My System

When I interview techs, I ask them questions related to technologies and tasks that they would be expected to perform in the job. And the tasks that they do will vary based on the environment. For example, a Windows server tech might be asked how to work with AD or set up a virtual machine, a Cisco tech might be asked how to set up dynamic routing or configure an ACL, and a security admin might be asked which ports to open in order to allow certain traffic. So there are no "general interview questions".

Further, questions will vary from interviewer to interviewer. Some might focus more on technical aspects, while others might focus more on interpersonal and social aspects. It all depends on what the interviewer wants to see from a potential employee.

Bottom line is this - you can't really study for an interview. The good thing is... if you're the right fit for the job, then you'll already have a good answer to the questions the interviewer will ask.
Old 02-09-2015, 08:29 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast

Definitely know the 7 layers of the OSI, I would ask that, I mean that's something everyone should know in the network field.
Sponsored Links