Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Multiple skills/ scattered skills in IT

This is a discussion on Multiple skills/ scattered skills in IT within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a completely scattered skillset in IT. It's a classic example of being a jack of all trades, but

Closed Thread

Old 05-07-2013, 10:10 AM   #1
Registered Member

I have a completely scattered skillset in IT. It's a classic example of being a jack of all trades, but master of none. I am not able to present myself well in the job market because of this. Even if I have more than 6 years of experience, whenever I attend some interviews the relevant experience counts to only 2 or 3 years and my skills may not be up to date with the market demands. Also, whenever I decide to study something or improve my skillset, I get totally confused about where to start and what to work on. I have worked with leading corporate clients globally and in highly professional work environments. But, I lack a lot in the job market. Please advise what to do.
Following is a brief breakup of my 6 and half years of IT career in chronological order starting from my first experience to the latest:

1 year and 6 months-
Domain: Social Networking websites/Web application development
Technologies: PHP, HTML, Java script, Ajax, XML, CSS, MySQL
Platform: Linux, Internet applications
5 Months-
Domain: Technical Support for Java.
Develop dashboard applications using core Java, Swing, JSP, HTML etc
3 years and 6 months-
Domain: Automotive
Technologies: Coldfusion, Oracle, HTML, Java script, Ajax, Jquery, XML, CSS, MySQL
Platform: Windows/IIS, Intranet applications
1 year-
Domain: Medical
Technologies/Activities: Infrastructure support- Python scriptiing, software build management, Creating server farms, virtualization, Build forge tool, IBM Rational Requisite Pro,IBM Rational DOORS, HP Quality center.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement