Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

MCSA - Windows Server 2008 or 2012?

This is a discussion on MCSA - Windows Server 2008 or 2012? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I intend to study for the exams to gain the MCSA Windows Server title, but not sure whether to

Closed Thread

Old 06-27-2013, 02:16 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hello,

I intend to study for the exams to gain the MCSA Windows Server title, but not sure whether to study for the 2008 or 2012.
In my workplace we use a mix of 2003 and 2008r2 but I figure itís going to take a while to complete given there's 3 exams to pass.
I guess what I'm trying to find out is, is Windows Server 2008r2 as good/popular as XP was as an operating system and therefore will be seen in workplaces for a long time to come, or would it be a better choice to go with the Server 2012 study and exams?

I still want the fact that I studied for these exams to be seen as valid in my next job role, which will be within the next few years.

The other thing I've got issues with is obviously I canít use the work servers for testing purposes so in all likelihood I'll somehow have to come up with the £400 to purchase the server software. Has anyone had any ideas on perhaps virtual labs/virtual hosting being a more cost effective method?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-27-2013, 03:10 PM   #2
Moderator, IT Pro Team
Certification and Career Expert

My System

I'll put it this way: if the Server 2003 exams were going to be available for much longer, I'd recommend that you pursue them, because 2003 will likely continue to be used. As it is, I'd recommend pursuing the Server 2008 exams (as 2008 will also continue to be used for quite some time). When you're done with those, conquer 2012.