Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

MCSA Server cert before actually working with servers

This is a discussion on MCSA Server cert before actually working with servers within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I'm new here, and I've got 3 years experience as a desktop support and 1st line helpdesk guy. I'm


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2015, 07:37 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
OS: Win7 Ultimate SP1 x64



Hello,

I'm new here, and I've got 3 years experience as a desktop support and 1st line helpdesk guy. I'm also suddenly out of a job. So the question of getting a couple of certs, or not, has just become more urgent

I've worked with Win7, XP and Mac clients, and I think I'm pretty good on all those. No server experience except in my last job, which was a temp gig that lasted all of 2 months, and the reason they let me go was IMHO unreasonable (I took 3 days medical leave which I fully documented) , so I'm not comfortable with putting much emphasis on that. It was basic stuff anyway, password resets, folder and email permission groups in Active Directory. Mixture of Server 2003, 2008 and 2012, so I can honestly say I've laid hands on all three.

I'm planning to do MCSA Windows 7, and the basic ACA Mac certs that you can do online. Any thoughts on others, in particular Windows Server 2008 or 2012? What about MS Office certs, do those have value?

Any other skills I should start picking up? Kinda regret not doing that already in my old job. Impostor syndrome fail.

I'm in London UK, btw.
ben386 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2015, 08:33 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Personally I would stick to the workstation/client certifications. Even if you were able to pass the server exams (not likely without experience) most companies would want to see work experience.

Studying for the server exams would be fine just so you gain the knowledge.
__________________
[url=https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/announcement.php?f=299&a=105]

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is offline  
Old 03-09-2015, 11:51 PM   #3
Moderator, IT Pro Team
Certification and Career Expert
 
BosonMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: near Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,048
OS: Windows 7, and I won't be upgrading to Windows 10!

My System


I agree with JMPC. Certifications are designed to validate experience you already have, not to show an employer what you want to get experience doing.
__________________
BosonMichael / Senior Content Developer, Boson Software
CISSP, CEH, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
Served proudly, US Army, 98C Intelligence Analyst, '89-'92
BosonMichael is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows server 2003 problem
Our Dell sc420 domain controller using Windows 2003 server had a hard drive go south Friday. I had a spare HD, so I was able to restore using a backup and acronis. Problem now are a few things: 1. When the OS is loading, it gets hung up on network settings for 10 min, then goes on to allow...
bradmd Windows Servers 1 09-24-2014 09:26 AM
Horrible net speeds suddenly
Ok , I have had trouble with Mediacom in the past when they overload nodes. The past few months my connection has been great considering it's mediacom. I was getting 20-30 mb dl and 2mb upload which is right for my 20 mb line I pay for. Last night though all of the sudden I am getting 1-3 mb dl and...
Drivethrujerod Networking Support 26 12-17-2012 04:43 PM
Dell PowerEdge Server crawling like a snail
Hi everyone! I seem to be having a problem with the Dell PowerEdge Server at my work, it's running Windows Server 2003 for Small Business and is crawling at a snails pace. So much so I've been waiting 20+ minutes for it to apply settings for me to even log in to the server. I know a big part of...
JacobRyan Windows Servers 12 12-12-2012 02:56 PM
Internet Explorer Loads & Uses Tons of Memory
Internet Explorer runs on it's own--in the background--and uses tons of memory. This is similar to a problem that a user named MalusCalibur had back in 2008. IE loads up and runs from 30K and climbs to anywhere from 100-300K of Memory. I've quelled this problem by constantly having Windows...
Deeke777 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 35 06-26-2012 01:11 PM
Access to Internet lost
Hi guys, I'm working on a home network where quite regularly the internet connection drops and requires the router to be restarted. I know this is something that can happen from time to time but this is happening every few days. For this reason we swapped the modem/router for a new one to see if...
PaoloPanella Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 9 03-11-2011 05:55 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts