Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

management or IT ?

This is a discussion on management or IT ? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone..iam really happy where iam on my life now..there is tons of opportunity for me.and I can't complaint! But..I

Closed Thread

Old 08-29-2014, 11:40 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello everyone..iam really happy where iam on my life now..there is tons of opportunity for me.and I can't complaint! But..I have a brutal decision to make! So let me start off by letting you guys know what's going on..I got involved in this project 9 months ago for a help desk team..I am a level 1 technician, and finally the project is ready to rampup, and they are hiring more people now..so there was 2 promotions..level 2 and supervisor position..I got the supervisor position with a salary increase..they will train me and everything...but there is another position on the IT team! Which is called syntellec engineer..it's pretty much to deal with the telephones..supporting voiP and dealing with some servers.and the salary will be more as well.the product syntellec is not a known product..so there is not a lot of people out there that knows how to deal with the product...they would train the right candidate..and I have apply for that job as well..my question is...which one should I go for?
I've always liked the IT side ..but the management side is awesome as well...if I go for the management side will I lose my IT SKILLS? and if I go to the IT side would I have management skills? Please give me some good advice...I hate being comfused..
Thanks guys
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-29-2014, 01:35 PM   #2
Enthusiast

My System

Here's my take on IT people and IT management and this is just my experience.