Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

IT Career advice

This is a discussion on IT Career advice within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I'm 27 and I have little work experience, I've decided that I'd really like to go into IT so

Closed Thread

Old 11-12-2013, 10:51 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hello, I'm 27 and I have little work experience, I've decided that I'd really like to go into IT so I'm enrolling at my local community college.

I've done some basic programming before, I've used HTML and DrJava so I kinda understand the work involved. I really do enjoy programming however I've taken a class toward A+ and the hands on physical work is pretty fun too. Although If I had to say at this point I' enjoyed programming a little more.

However I hear that hardware based IT such as A+ and Security+ are HUGE now.

I'd like to go into web programming, like HTML, CSS, ASP.NET and Javascript but I'd like to know what has better job prospects, the hardware or software side of IT? What would be better for someone with no experience?

Also do you need to have a background in math to do programming? I've taken precalculus but really have no desire to take anymore math courses.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-13-2013, 04:11 AM   #2
Enthusiast

My System

first of all you really need to decide what you want to do. Never go into IT for the money because it could be a long time before you get a decent wage. Don't believe any of the crap you see where they say the average salary is xxxx because it's all BS.

Secondly experience is actually what counts not qualifications or certifications and someone with no experience should not be studying for security +. Security+ is designed for people with experience working in security already.