Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Is My Resume Hurting Me???

This is a discussion on Is My Resume Hurting Me??? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've been trying to get into the IT field with no luck so far. I've had plenty of phone interviews

Closed Thread

Old 01-08-2015, 03:07 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast

My System

I've been trying to get into the IT field with no luck so far. I've had plenty of phone interviews but they don't go past that.

I have no "IT related experience" to list on my resume as both my last jobs have nothing to do with IT.

Just had another phone interview with a recruiter who stated that he believes my resume is hurting me because of my two most recent jobs. He recommended that I remove them and instead list freelance work that I've done related to IT.

Attached is a copy of my resume. I've changed personal identifying information.

I would appreciate all feedback. Please be as honest as possible, don't hold back. Thank you in advance.
Attached Files
File Type: doc IT Resume_Edited for TSF.doc (54.0 KB, 59 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-08-2015, 03:20 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

My System

Sorry, forgot to add following to my original post:

I have about 8 years of experience doing freelance work troubleshooting and repairing hardware and software issues. Repairing computers and laptops. One year of Academic experience with Visual Basic .NET, Java, and C+. Extremely knowledgeable of Microsoft Windows operating systems such as XP, Vista, 7, 8 and Microsoft Office Suites 2003-2013. Efficient with Mac OS X and Basic Linux. Extensive LAN experience setting up SOHO Networks.