Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

I need some advice on changing my career path to Information technology. Please help.

This is a discussion on I need some advice on changing my career path to Information technology. Please help. within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello TechSupport FORUM , I have a double degree in Public Relations/Business studies. I did not meet the prerequisites for

Closed Thread

Old 10-06-2014, 06:01 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello TechSupport FORUM,

I have a double degree in Public Relations/Business studies. I did not meet the prerequisites for my chosen field of study, which was Information Technology. I've worked in public relation firms and marketing firms. I dislike the career path I have chosen.

I am starting to question whether it is worth spending another 10-30 years in this field. I have a High-Distinction average and I am considering completing a Masters of Information Technology. I do not meet the prerequisites for the Masters, although I can undertake a 'Graduate Diploma in Computing' and then an MIT, this would take 3 years full time or alternatively I can complete industry certifications.
I apologize for the shoddy grammar/spelling.

Can you please give me some Advice.

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-06-2014, 08:06 AM   #2
Enthusiast

My System

You do not need a degree or a masters to get a job in IT. What will be of benefit the most is experience. With or without a degree you will most likely have to start at the bottom anyway.

You could study some entry level certifications which can be studied on your own or at a course but on your own is cheaper. Entry level certs are compTIA A+ and compTIA Network + you could also consider a Microsoft cert such as the 70-680.

Many employers will hire you if you tell them you are studying for these certs and some may be impressed if you say you are self studying for them.