Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

How applicable is a college degree in CS ?

This is a discussion on How applicable is a college degree in CS ? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, Thanks in advance for helping me out. I've been a programmer for about 17 years now. But I lack

Closed Thread

Old 05-19-2015, 07:06 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi,

Thanks in advance for helping me out. I've been a programmer for about 17 years now. But I lack a degree in Computer Science. I have a BS in Information Technology but didn't take very many computer science courses. I do all Microsoft development. How applicable would it be to my Microsoft career to take computer science courses at a University ? None of the computer science courses would be Microsoft related, but would they still help my programming skills ? Or would it be just a waste of money. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-19-2015, 09:10 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

If you've been programming for 17 years and kept up with current technology and languages I'm not sure it would be of any benefit. With that much experience I doubt any employers would care about the degree, they would only care about your skill-set. If you're looking to learn a new language or more advanced methods then just find courses that are specialized in what you're looking for. You might also want to look into developer certifications:
https://www.microsoft.com/learning/e...ification.aspx

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
Closed Thread

Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone with a college degree in computers, can you answer this?