Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Help Desk support jobs questions please?

This is a discussion on Help Desk support jobs questions please? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello guys, I have been doing pc repairs out of my Home Office for many years, around 2000 I had


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2014, 07:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
OS: vista home



Hello guys, I have been doing pc repairs out of my Home Office for many years, around 2000 I had studied the A+ courses at home to prepare myself for getting into this field but now I would like to have the certification because I am seeking a Help Desk job and thinking of taking the A+ exams. Thing is, even with that certification, I will be inexperienced in certain things especially networking and printer troubleshooting.

I am thinking in the same way when you call Dell, HP e.t.c for support, their Techs read off a database and do not troubleshoot problems themselves, I am being told that IT companies work the opposite way, you can the help Deks agent will need to walk people through their problems based only on your experience, is the norm with IT companies please?
mikehende is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2014, 09:16 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



If you've been repairing PCs and have a good knowledge of operating systems (Windows/Mac) as well as basic office applications you'll be fine. Check the job descriptions and see what they list as requirements.

Tier 1 support is typically things like customers asking "how do I do...", resetting passwords, setting up a default printer, etc.

A+ is definitely a good way to get yourself in the door and I would also suggest getting an entry level Microsoft certification as well.
https://www.microsoft.com/learning/e...-overview.aspx

Do as much as you can to learn from home. Get familiar with an aspects of the potential job by watching videos online.
__________________
[url=https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/announcement.php?f=299&a=105]

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 10:07 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
OS: vista home



Thanks. One guy from an IT Company here in NY called me and said since I don't have much IT Networking experience to help customers troubleshoot that he can only hire me on a minimum wage salary. I think you;re right, different companies have different requirements so getting the certifications would be the first thing to do to possibly get better opportunities.
mikehende is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2014, 10:51 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Yeah, different companies require different skill sets. I used to work for a company that hired service desk engineers from Geek Squad, Micro Center, etc.

If you need more networking, here's the Network+ course:
Professor Messer's CompTIA N10-005 Network+ Training | Professor Messer - CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Linux, Microsoft Technology Training
__________________
[url=https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/announcement.php?f=299&a=105]

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 05:46 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
OS: vista home



Thanks for the link. I am thinking after getting the certifications I should apply for jobs with a database as opposed to having to troubleshoot problems remotely off of my own knowledge?
mikehende is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 07:51 PM   #6
Moderator, IT Pro Team
Certification and Career Expert
 
BosonMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: near Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,048
OS: Windows 7, and I won't be upgrading to Windows 10!

My System


What you will need to do is to get an entry-level IT job - ANY entry-level IT job. Then, after you've got your foot in the door, you'll pick up knowledge and experience as you go.

Unless you've got an uncle who is an IT manager and is willing to take a risk on hiring you for a higher-level IT job, you're going to have to do what 99.9% of us did: start at the bottom. And, as you've seen, entry-level IT jobs don't pay that much. But you're not going to have to work for low wages in an entry-level job forever. In time, you'll gain experience, and the more you know how to do, the more valuable you are to employers... which will translate into higher salaries for you.

Certification can certainly make you look more attractive to employers. However, certification is NOT a substitute for experience in an employer's eyes. No company in their right mind is going to hire someone with no IT experience to administer a mission-critical server or network. The key is to continue to pick up responsibilities as you gain experience... and once you can no longer grow at your current place of employment, it's time to switch employers. Gain experience, certify on things you have experience doing, take another step up the IT career ladder, and repeat. It's simple, and it works. :)

Hope this helps. :)
__________________
BosonMichael / Senior Content Developer, Boson Software
CISSP, CEH, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
Served proudly, US Army, 98C Intelligence Analyst, '89-'92
BosonMichael is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 04:29 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
OS: vista home



Yes, makes absolute sense, appreciate it! Regarding the Comptia A+ exams, if I can get a voucher from any other source for less than the $188 per course, how can I know if that voucher will be real?
mikehende is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 09:07 AM   #8
Moderator, IT Pro Team
Certification and Career Expert
 
BosonMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: near Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,048
OS: Windows 7, and I won't be upgrading to Windows 10!

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikehende View Post
Yes, makes absolute sense, appreciate it! Regarding the Comptia A+ exams, if I can get a voucher from any other source for less than the $188 per course, how can I know if that voucher will be real?
Other than validation from someone who you trust, there's no easy way to know. My employers, past and present, have always paid for my certification exams, so I've never taken the risk of using a discounted voucher.
__________________
BosonMichael / Senior Content Developer, Boson Software
CISSP, CEH, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
Served proudly, US Army, 98C Intelligence Analyst, '89-'92
BosonMichael is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 12:05 PM   #9
Gone | Not Forgotten
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 14,581
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Since your in the USA you can check with the Better Business Bureau as they may have an opinion.

BG
__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 12:18 AM   #10
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


CompTIA Vouchers - A+ Certification Exam CompTIA Voucher Test Discount at Prometric / VUE Testing Centers do vouchers for the A+ etc this site is valid and legit.
__________________
Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Articles Index
Updated May 30th, 2015 Articles, Stickies and Blogs All articles, stickies and tips have now been grouped under topic headings to make it easier to find relevant items. To distinguish between the various types, colour coding is used so that Articles are blue, Stickies and Closed Threads are...
JohnthePilot Articles, Tutorials & Reviews 69 11-08-2014 02:18 AM
win/heur
I am using windows vista home premium and scan with AVG free 2011 and it picked up infection name win/heur to path C:\program files\common files\symantec shared\CCPD-LC\symlcrst.Dll. Right now it is in AVG virus vault.Can it hurt my computer from there and how do I get rid of it.:4-dontkno
fentonholland General Computer Security 13 03-10-2011 01:02 PM
Acer 4710z support query
I am using acer 4710z notebook. I want to know whether it will support any TV Tuner Card (type LCD or others) which can be used to view DTH service. My configuration is Acer Aspire 4710 Series Notebook Detailed Technical Specifications: Processor Intel® Centrino® Duo mobile processor...
mdhar1 Other Hardware Support 1 01-11-2011 06:33 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts