Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Help Desk support jobs questions please?

This is a discussion on Help Desk support jobs questions please? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello guys, I have been doing pc repairs out of my Home Office for many years, around 2000 I had

Closed Thread

Old 09-01-2014, 07:40 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello guys, I have been doing pc repairs out of my Home Office for many years, around 2000 I had studied the A+ courses at home to prepare myself for getting into this field but now I would like to have the certification because I am seeking a Help Desk job and thinking of taking the A+ exams. Thing is, even with that certification, I will be inexperienced in certain things especially networking and printer troubleshooting.

I am thinking in the same way when you call Dell, HP e.t.c for support, their Techs read off a database and do not troubleshoot problems themselves, I am being told that IT companies work the opposite way, you can the help Deks agent will need to walk people through their problems based only on your experience, is the norm with IT companies please?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-01-2014, 09:16 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

If you've been repairing PCs and have a good knowledge of operating systems (Windows/Mac) as well as basic office applications you'll be fine. Check the job descriptions and see what they list as requirements.

Tier 1 support is typically things like customers asking "how do I do...", resetting passwords, setting up a default printer, etc.

A+ is definitely a good way to get yourself in the door and I would also suggest getting an entry level Microsoft certification as well.
https://www.microsoft.com/learning/e...-overview.aspx

Do as much as you can to learn from home. Get familiar with an aspects of the potential job by watching videos online.