Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Help!!! Cheap universities for a future software/computer engineer in the US?

This is a discussion on Help!!! Cheap universities for a future software/computer engineer in the US? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi! I'm a 25yrs old guy from Holland that finally decided to go back to high school this year and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2013, 01:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
OS: Win7



Hi!
I'm a 25yrs old guy from Holland that finally decided to go back to high school this year and fix my all my grades, and a my life which was a complete mess before.


Anyway, I'm moving to US this autumn and I got this dream about working in Silicon Valley in the future as some sort of engineer and I would love to be one of those guys that gets to work with technology and develop the future smartphones, computers or systems or whatever and earn some decent money.

So I guess I'm looking for a bachelor in software engineering or computer science and engineering this autumn.
Problem is that it seems like most universities cost way too much (+ 30k/year) for my budget and I don't know if a very cheap and unrecognized university will give me a too big disadvantage to compete in SV...?

Any ideas of a university (preferably in the California-area) that could give me a decent bachelor degree without huge costs?

I would love any sort of help. Cheers!
Tordon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2013, 01:49 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


I don't live in the US so can't advise on Universities but did you know that Chicago and Texas are apparently the places to be now. That was according to my latest compTIA and Microsoft news letter.
__________________
Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 04:13 PM   #3
Moderator, IT Pro Team
Certification and Career Expert
 
BosonMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: near Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,048
OS: Windows 7, and I won't be upgrading to Windows 10!

My System


Degrees aren't cheap. And if you find one that is cheap... keep in mind that you typically get what you pay for.

Worse, California is more expensive than most, particularly when you factor in cost-of-living expenses.

Wish I had some good advice for you. If you were a US citizen, I'd recommend going to a state university and paying in-state tuition rates, which is about as cheap as it can get (which still isn't "cheap").
__________________
BosonMichael / Senior Content Developer, Boson Software
CISSP, CEH, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
Served proudly, US Army, 98C Intelligence Analyst, '89-'92
BosonMichael is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2013, 06:03 AM   #4
Gone | Not Forgotten
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 14,581
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Maybe start off with a community college for a couple of years,get like an associate degree then move up to a state university.

BG
__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline  
Old 06-15-2013, 06:48 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
medab1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: 22801
Posts: 252
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Be very careful of taking out a student loan.
Research it carefully.
You may qualify for a Pell Grant. ???????
medab1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
win7 + xp
hello i'm buying new computer including win7, but I would also like to install my old HDD where 2 older OS are installed (XP & Vista). Now I have some questions? 1) Will that work by just putting old HDD inside or there will need to be done some change? 2) Will be XP and Vista recognized at...
dar03 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 04-25-2012 08:13 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts