Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

From PC TECH to ........

This is a discussion on From PC TECH to ........ within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I hope I'm in the correct area but my question is regarding how to transition from PC Tech to Network

Closed Thread

Old 07-24-2014, 08:43 PM   #1
Registered Member

I hope I'm in the correct area but my question is regarding how to transition from PC Tech to Network Tech? I've been a PC tech for the past 15 years, 11 of those are with my current employer and a networking technician position has opened up and thinking of applying. My problem is what do I need to know or what can I do to get some hands on knowledge since the interview consists of a hands on test that consists of a router, switch, and an ip phone. So I really need some advise and guidance from a pro. HELP!!!!!!!!

Help me I need help with how to transition from PC Tech to Network Tech? I've been a PC tech for the past 15 years, 11 of those are with my current employer and a networking technician position has opened up and thinking of applying. My problem is what do I need to know or what can I do to get some hands on knowledge since the interview consists of a hands on test that consists of a router, switch, and an ip phone. So I really need some advise and guidance from a pro. I am clueless as to how to even login into a switch, router etc... I've been a tech support for computers, laptops, tablets, and ipads. So I know how to troubleshoot when theres network connectivity problems but that is it. The position closes on August 8th so I would say I have about 3 weeks till the interview/hands on test........ HELP!!!!!!!!
Thanks in advance..... cv
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-25-2014, 10:32 PM   #2
Moderator, IT Pro Team
Certification and Career Expert

My System