Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

First helpdesk job. Need your input.

This is a discussion on First helpdesk job. Need your input. within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have no work experience in IT. I am A+ and N+ certified though I am pretty clueless in any

Closed Thread

Old 01-08-2014, 01:24 PM   #1
Registered Member

I have no work experience in IT. I am A+ and N+ certified though I am pretty clueless in any OS other than Mac OS.

How much of a problem is this going to be for a first helpdesk position? Should I lie and say I know the Windows OSs and see what happens? Or should I be honest and hope there is something available I actually qualify for?

And by "see what happens" I mean the possibility of being in a situation where I am expected to diagnose and correct Windows issues over the phone. Not gonna happen unless turning off the computer and turning it back on fixes it.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-08-2014, 01:30 PM   #2
Enthusiast

My System

If your going into your first job you will most likely be given training and you could be reading from and learning from a script for a while. Most companies will not just throw you in at the deep end and expect you to know everything.

If you do get into a situation where you don't know what to do ask someone who will. You wont get any points by annoying customers by fumbling or lying your way through a call.

If you don;t know what to do when your on the phone either ask the customer if they can hold on a minute whilst you ask someone or pass them onto a more experienced person.

If you do have this job then the people who hired you will know what your experience level is (unless you lied) So don't worry about it.
Old 01-08-2014, 01:44 PM   #3
Registered Member

Good advice. Thanks.