Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Entering IT

This is a discussion on Entering IT within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have decided that I want to enter the field of IT. However, I am having difficulty determining which path


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-29-2015, 07:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista 64-bit - SP2


Question

I have decided that I want to enter the field of IT. However, I am having difficulty determining which path to take. I have read that the Cisco CCNA Networking Certification is not enough to get a job on its own. I seek advice on what certificate(s) I would need to get started. I am looking at something such at support or networking.

There are so many questions in which I can find very few answers to. Any advice would be much appreciated.
UltimaBurnie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2015, 08:45 AM   #2
Gone | Not Forgotten
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 14,581
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Comp TIA Looks like the place to start, read here:

CompTIA A+ update - Tech Support Forum

BG
__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline  
Old 11-29-2015, 08:49 AM   #3
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,214
OS: win 10 Home



Network + is usually recommended to start with.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2015, 07:12 PM   #4
Moderator, IT Pro Team
Certification and Career Expert
 
BosonMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: near Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,048
OS: Windows 7, and I won't be upgrading to Windows 10!

My System


I recommend starting out with A+ and Network+. I would NOT recommend starting out with CCNA, as entry-level techs won't typically be asked to administer Cisco gear. As such, entry-level employers won't be looking to hire CCNAs.

All that said, don't wait till you're certified to start looking. Start looking for entry-level tech jobs NOW. As you get certified, add the certifications to your resume and keep looking.
__________________
BosonMichael / Senior Content Developer, Boson Software
CISSP, CEH, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
Served proudly, US Army, 98C Intelligence Analyst, '89-'92
BosonMichael is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 07:47 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista 64-bit - SP2



Thank you all for your advice and guidance. BosonMichael, would you happen to have any ideas for where to look for entry level jobs? The things that come to mind for me are doing a google search and local classifieds.
UltimaBurnie is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 10:15 PM   #6
Moderator, IT Pro Team
Certification and Career Expert
 
BosonMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: near Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,048
OS: Windows 7, and I won't be upgrading to Windows 10!

My System


Monster.com, CareerBuilder.com, and Dice.com are all good places to start. There are plenty of other job search engines out there, however.
__________________
BosonMichael / Senior Content Developer, Boson Software
CISSP, CEH, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
Served proudly, US Army, 98C Intelligence Analyst, '89-'92
BosonMichael is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer entering power save mode at random times!
I've has this problem for a couple weeks, and it has gotten very annoying. When I am playing some games on my desktop, the computer enters power saving mode after a bit. This varies on game, but it happens on every game. For reference, it happens after 10-15 minutes into a Civilization 5 game,...
C3544G Other Hardware Support 9 08-31-2014 12:37 PM
Entering SETUP...?
I am able to turn my computer on, but when it only goes as far as the DELL loading page. It then gives me the option of F2 Setup or F12 Boot Options.. When I click F2 to enter setup, it just says Entering Setup...and nothing happens. Also on the same screen it says exactly this.. CPU = 1...
CJLeslie21 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 11-24-2011 03:51 PM
Entering Mail Merge codes in Word 2003
I am creating a mail merge in WORD 2003. The data source is in EXCEL 2003 which contains 200 fields. Is there any way of entering the codes for these fields in the word document all at once? Doing it one at a time is a tedious operation.
howardbk1 Microsoft Office support 3 05-08-2011 08:34 PM
[SOLVED] Entering power save mode o.O
Ok, well, im not sure how big of a problem this is, but i would like to know whats wrong, and hope to fix it. When i play call of duty modern warfare 2 , i will play it for a bit, mabye an hour at most, and it will randomly turn black and tell me entering power save mode. after it does that,...
Ecocide Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 9 04-20-2011 08:58 PM
Random mouse clicking and entering text - virus?
Hi, Periodically I get random mouse clicks and keyboard entering spaces or my username (but in lower case)!! I got this thing today while I was making presentation in power point. I had MSE installed, but I didn't find anything. I uninstalled it and installed NOD32 and nothing was found...
bkovacic Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 04-15-2011 08:22 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts