Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Differences Between Level 2 and Level 3 Support

This is a discussion on Differences Between Level 2 and Level 3 Support within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi All, I have been doing level 2 desktop support for almost two years now, and am thinking about what

Closed Thread

Old 10-18-2014, 05:07 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast

Hi All,

I have been doing level 2 desktop support for almost two years now, and am thinking about what to do next. Logically, I thought trying to get to level 3 support might be a good next step :). My question is, has anyone switched from working at level 2 to level 3, and if so, how different is level 3 compared to level 2 in terms of the support you're required to provide? In what ways does it differ? What technologies would you want to know for level 3 that you might not necessarily be expected to know doing level 2 support? Is knowing VBScript and Poweshell a must (I'm trying to learn PS at the moment)? Do most level 3 people work with databases and other non-Windows operating systems such as Linux?

Thanks in advance for any input.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-18-2014, 07:03 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

It's really going to depend on the support being provided. Each above Tier1 handles issues that cannot be resolved by the previous engineer.

If you have a tier 3 group where you are now, find out what type of work they do or what the requirements are to move up.

In my previous jobs Tier 3 was the highest level of desktop support and those engineers had the most experience, the most certifications and handled the escalated tickets. The work wasn't that much different, the just handled the cases that the other tiers couldn't.

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
Closed Thread

Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads