Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Career transition for an old guy...

This is a discussion on Career transition for an old guy... within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Quick facts 41 years old 95 credits towards degree...but in finance....and that was 15 years ago Former Marine Working in

Closed Thread

Old 09-23-2014, 12:59 PM   #1
Registered Member

Quick facts

41 years old
95 credits towards degree...but in finance....and that was 15 years ago
Former Marine
Working in sales last 15 years
Live and work between Oklahoma City and Tulsa. Can get to either for a job.

Ok. Going through a bit of mid life crisis, lol. When I was younger I was the stereotypical 98 pound nerd. I was programming when I was in high school. When I got in the Marines I was a LAN administrator....but that was long long ago. I was getting my degree while active duty...think mid 90s...Wall Street types were the one making big pay checks so I was going for finance. Long story short....I got hurt...didn't finish school....got out of the Corps and got into sales because I needed a job fast. Here I am 15 years later. I'm doing ok some years not other years.

I really would like to move into tech sales or security or software ...BA etc. my inner nerd is not happy selling and not being involved.

Things I have in my favor. I'm smart. Now...likely everyone on this forum is...so I'm not bragging, just saying some people in my position might be limited. I'm not from an intelligence standpoint. I can quite literally do/learn whatever I want. We'll...except learn grammar and spelling. Lol. Also. My finance background and years in sales...I'm good with non techie people. Very good on the business side and communications side. Was even a speech and debate champ a million years ago. I can fit in and deal with C level on down to custodians and translate between the two worlds.