Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Career in tech support? Worth it?

This is a discussion on Career in tech support? Worth it? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I am 48 year old laid off teacher. I am doing a 360 degree career turn. I want want

Closed Thread

Old 05-16-2015, 04:15 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hi,

I am 48 year old laid off teacher. I am doing a 360 degree career turn. I want want to go into tech support.

I do have helping skills, basic computer skills, and have 4 years experience in a call center. I am very good on the phones.

The problem is my age(age discrimination). Also is their any advancement in IT for an old guy? I have a Bachelors degree.

I am going through a Tek Systems recruiter who can land me a job for $18 an hour in tech support---same pay as being a teacher but hopefully more rewarding and better paying as time goes on.

Is Tek Systems a good way to get my feet wet in IT for an entry level position?
Anyone know about Tek Systems?

Any information about tech support, certifications, tips, or any information is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Jack
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-16-2015, 04:38 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

My System

Hi and Welcome to TSF!

The problem with US based tech support, is that most companies have opted to outsource the labor to other countries. The best somebody could do in a call center for IT support wouldn't lead anywhere for a long-term career path.

You also can't jump right into IT support, you need knowledge in the background. A better place to start is in a companies help desk. Many companies have local help desks to solve issues with computers within one day.
Old 05-16-2015, 05:02 PM   #3
Registered Member

Thanks for clearing that up.

I will apply for help desk instead.