Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

User Tag List

Career Advise

This is a discussion on Career Advise within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone, I have a technical BS degree and recent MBA degree in IT. I started my career at Helpdesk

Closed Thread

Old 05-22-2013, 12:45 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hello everyone,

I have a technical BS degree and recent MBA degree in IT. I started my career at Helpdesk support almost 6 months back with a big company. I have A+, Net+ and planning on getting MCSA and CCNA certs.

My question is -

Is this the right start for me with an MBA degree ? I was told that I need to have experience before I can get a job as an analyst or manager. I did my BS and straight did my MBA.

What else should I focus on getting ?

Please advise as I don't want to get stuck in Support positions.

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-22-2013, 02:59 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

Chances are you're going to have to go through entry level IT for a while before you have the opportunity to do something else. The fact is there are tons and tons of people with a lot of experience and education. It'll be a challenge finding a job without that experience. I would suggest staying where you are while you look for something else and gain the experience you need.

If you can move to a supervisory position that will give you the experience you need for managing people. Also look into some management training as a lot of employers look for certifications in things like ITIL.

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
Old 05-23-2013, 11:40 AM   #3
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMPC View Post